Home > Desktop > Research finds Opera users are most satisfied

Research finds Opera users are most satisfied

April 11, 2007

Opera LogoResearchers at NetApplications found that Opera has the most satisfied users of all other browsers.

“When the browser share is factored into the best browser voting, the analysis is even more revealing. The results imply that Opera has the most satisfied user base, followed by Firefox and [Apple’s] Safari,” according to NetApplications.

“Opera is retaining its status as one of the internet’s best-kept secrets – less than one per cent of surfers worldwide use the browser.”

I don’t find this report surprising at all. I’ve been a fan of Opera for more than 6 years already, and I truly notice the superiority of Opera when I use other browsers here and there.

Source

Categories: Desktop
  1. April 11, 2007 at 1:52 am

    Well, I’m certainly satisfied with Opera. I just can’t customize other browsers like I can Opera (unless I want to learn how to write extensions for them). Even Konqueror isn’t as customizable as Opera.

    It’s good to hear that users tend to be more satisfied with Opera. That just goes to show what a good product Opera is… 😉

  2. Jezetha
    April 11, 2007 at 3:12 am

    They aren’t lying. Here’s another satisfied customer… Opera go! go! go!

  3. Nike
    April 11, 2007 at 3:50 am

    Yeah, me too. I tried the other browsers too, and Opera is the best.

  4. Bob
    April 11, 2007 at 4:35 am

    Die-hard user since 2001. I’m so happy Opera is making strides in the game browser world. One day the world will wake up to this superior product!

  5. Jakob
    April 11, 2007 at 4:43 am

    I guess anyone could turn this to be a positive thing. But really!

    Less 1% of all users are more happy with Opera, than others are with other browsers. Unfortunately, it is not stated that the rest would be happy with Opera!

    Could it be that Opera caters only to the 1%, and does so sucessfully?

    Is this Opera’s legacy: Sit on a pumpkin and have all to itself, rather than sharing a velvet…..

  6. Jay
    April 11, 2007 at 5:44 am
  7. April 11, 2007 at 7:15 am

    Very well!

    Opera make me happy! 🙂

  8. junkeR
    April 11, 2007 at 8:05 am

    I’m not really satisfied with the speed performance issue. Many others also complain about it in the forums. I wish it could work great out of the box without tweaking.. Also, it’s not just with my computer but all my friends I’ve tried to pursuade also notice the problem. I went back to 8.54 and it seems to not have the problem that 9 did. Other than that, I am extremely satisified with all the features Opera has.

  9. April 11, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Yup, I’m one of them heheh.

  10. April 11, 2007 at 9:36 am

    The source is http://www.webuser.co.uk/news/115497.html. Webuser’s source is http://www.netapplications.com/ / http://www.surveyware.com/ but I can’t find anything about it on their websites. Strange…

    (Opera user since 1999)

  11. April 11, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Something which is kind of fitting to this results:

    (caution, satire!)

    What does your browser reveal about you?

    Opera:

    You really don’t care for they Firefox hype. What you want is the best browser there is – and for you that’s Opera. You actually used to pay them when the browser was ad supported. If a Firefox fanboi starts talking smack about your browser you quickly shoot him down by proposing the ACID2 test. You know what you want (a fast, standards compliant browser) and you know where to get it. Browser wars do not interest you at all, although you kinda hope that Firefox wins so that fewer web developers make IE only pages.

  12. burstyourbubble
    April 11, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    These statistics are meaningless because the only users of Opera are the people who made the effort to choose it. Of course they’re going to like better. Similar with Firefox, except there’s a few more people who’ve been setup by friends/family so they aren’t as attached. IE will by definition be low in the ranking because most of it’s users are not aware that there are more customizable browsers out there.

    Sorry Opera fanbois, nothing to see here.

  13. April 11, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Hi Christian

    The article came on the Net Applications newsletter, which they e-mail a couple of times a month. I have deleted itso cannot cut and paste.

    Re satisfaction: on my computers I have Opera (Linux, Mac, DS), Firefox (linux), Amaya (linux), Dillo (linux), ICab (Mac), Galeon (linux), Epiphany (linux), Konqueror (linux), Camino (linux), Shiira (Mac), Safari (Mac), Netscape (Mac), Sea Monkey (linux), Internet Explorer (Mac). Which do I like Opera, ICab, and Epiphany. I use Explorer on XP at work because I’m not allowed to use anything else.

    Which do I like best, and use most of the time OPERA; mainly on linux, because I like my Fedora pc more than my Mac.

    I have used Opera since version 5 as main browser.

    Most people I talk to are not happy with IE, but not to a level to be bothered to do anything about it!

  14. Tadaaah!
    April 11, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    @Jakob

    “Less 1% of all users are more happy with Opera”

    That’s not what the article it says. It says that a larger per centage of Opera users are happy with Opera compared to other browsers.

    So maybe 80% of Opera users are happy with Opera, while 70% of Firefox users are happy with Firefox. Just an example.

    Most people haven’t even TRIED Opera, so saying that “less 1% of all users” is simply wrong.

    @junkeR

    I’m not really satisfied with the speed performance issue. Many others also complain about it in the forums.

    THE performance issue?

    It sounds like you are having an atypical problem and assuming that similar problems are the same problem AND widespread…

  15. clondike7
    April 11, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    I’ve been an Opera user since version 4. Its THE best browser I’ve tried. From the tabbed browsing (which as far as I know originated in Opera); to the Mouse Gestures (most used feature). Ctrl+click to save pictures. AND its way faster than Firefox. When the Firefox craze started I turned over a dozen of my friends into Opera after I showed them what a great browser it is. Sure it doesn’t have extensions; but everything I need it already has built-in. From RSS, to E-mail client, to Bittorrent client.

    Opera rules |:-D>

  16. April 11, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    I love Opera, except for it’s RSS reader, which is why I still open up firefox to read feeds.

  17. April 11, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    opera is the best. user since ~7.5 🙂

  18. April 11, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Discovered Opera when it was 7.54. Loved it ever since.

  19. unikuser
    April 11, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    I have been using opera well over a year after my firefox(1.5) started behaving strangely because of some extensions and crashing 10 times a day. I switched to opera and never looked back.

  20. April 12, 2007 at 1:46 am

    I like Opera, but I keep comming back to Firefox as I’m dedicated to the Page Info feature, and the extentions I use. I am aware of Opreas widgets, and there great it their own way, but I personaly don’t like how they are managed by Opera, also I can’t get the same functionality out of them as I do Firefox’s extentions. All in all, choise is awsome

  21. Chris
    April 12, 2007 at 5:02 am

    All other browser sucks,long live IE 7.0!!!! 🙂
    Microsoft Rocks!!!

  22. April 12, 2007 at 5:13 am

    I agree absolutly =)

  23. Jakob
    April 12, 2007 at 5:21 am

    @Tadaaah!

    How so?
    Less than 1% of all users are using Opera!

    I just don’t see it as a positive statement for Opera, that these “less than 1%” like Opera better than others like other browsers.

    Gathering from the statement, that Opera is better (for all those who try) is wrong.

    I guess one could say that Opera possibly caters to a very little portion of users, rather than that most users are using the wrong browser.

    I’ve been using Opera since 2.x and still do 🙂
    And I love it, but I wouldn’t pet my back on the grounds of that article.

  24. April 12, 2007 at 8:47 am

    @ Steve Barker. Thanks. Too bad you don’t have it anymore. It would be nice to see the original article…

  25. April 12, 2007 at 9:23 am

    heh. well i’m a certified opera fanboy so i can understand that entirely! 😉

  26. April 12, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    Why don’t you see the truth jealous people?!
    the users of Internet Explorer are more than 80%

  27. christian
    April 12, 2007 at 2:34 pm

    @ Huuu. jealous?

  28. Spn
    April 12, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    Opera…Great stuff.

    Less than 1% but we are the most content 1%…

    Is there some way we could give everybody else a chance at “operaing” without spamming…?

    We really should think of enlightening the world

  29. Jakob
    April 13, 2007 at 3:21 am

    @ Spn

    thought the world wanted to be deceived, so let’s mislead them instead!

  30. DMXell
    April 15, 2007 at 1:44 am

    Okay, to “burstyourbubble ,” post number 12: While the user percent may be small, we’re talking a little less than 1% of the 1 Billion or so internet users.True, it may not even bee a percent , it’s still around 1 million people. That then presents reasonably large value, thus m asking this test plausible. And frankly speaking, nothing will be even. Firefox is probably sitting around 15% because of all its false hype and IE around 80% because of all the ignorant people out there (I guess this extends to most Firefox users as well). To use Opera you need to be knowledgeable and do research about other browsers, then you’ll find that Opera is the best browser out there, and that’s why we’re the most satisfied users; because we actually did research to find our most compatible browser.

  31. April 19, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    It’s funny these people think that just because 80% of users use IE that makes it a better browser. 95% of PCs run windows, which comes with IE. That MIGHT have something to do with it.

    Me, I’ve been hypnotised by Opera. It’s taken over my body and is making me dance.

    😉

  32. April 19, 2007 at 10:07 pm

    …by the way, 9.20 does NOT have the speed/performance issues that 9 or 9.10 did. I strongly suggest you give it a try!

  33. April 20, 2007 at 8:16 am

    I’ve used Opera since near the beginning and it has always been fastest and easiest to use. I use others to check my websites don’t break in them, but Opera is the best!

  34. April 27, 2007 at 10:26 am

    I don’t mind opera at all. It might be more stable than the other two actually. It is fast, but it has an initial lag on viewing a new page.

  35. chewy
    April 29, 2007 at 9:47 am

    I use opera, ie, shiira, firefox, safari, and camino. All on os x. When I’m woking with lots of tabs, Opera leads them all in speed of tab switching and leafing back through history with back/forward. All you other browsers listen up: “There’s NO EXCUSE” for ANY delay showing me pages that are already cached!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.