Home > Uncategorized > The history of the Opera browser and more

The history of the Opera browser and more

March 23, 2007

Dan Schulz from the Search-This blog wrote a lengthy article in which he covers the history of Opera and a look at some of the popular Opera features. It’s a long and rather interesting read.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 23, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    +1 Very cool.

  2. March 23, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    I tried to leave a comment on his blog with the links he requested from “Richie”, but the comment didn’t show up. For now I will assume it’s just a moderation thing, and that it’s waiting for approval…

    Anyway, not a bad article. Would have better if the author had done a little more research, but it’s still a good read. 😉

  3. Jezetha
    March 23, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    A good read, IMO. I can’t wait for the next thrilling instalment!

  4. March 23, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Very good stuff. Make sure you keep us posted when parts 2 and 3 come out, Daniel!

    Also, instead of Digging this post, I submitted the Schulz’s instead. (Digg users tend to disapprove of Digg articles linking to a blog that links to the real story.)

    http://digg.com/software/Web_Browser_Wednesday_Going_to_the_Opera_Part_1/

  5. rucker
    March 23, 2007 at 4:04 pm

    Mouse gestures were introduced in Opera 5 (that was around 2000) not in Opera 8 as the article wrongly claims.

    Opera was not the first browser with tabs per se (even though Opera 4 had MDI which worked like tabs):
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tabbed_Document_Interface#History

    Looks like most of the posters here are newcomers… :p

  6. March 23, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    Nice read. And thanks Richie for his corrections for the article. BTW, while reading the article I caught the same mistakes 😉

  7. Dan Schulz
    March 23, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Well, where do I start? I guess I’ll just start by saying that my main source for the historical info was Opera.com itself (by the way, yes Search-This is moderated; I’m not happy with it, but it’s not my site, so I have to live with it just like everyone else). The original purpose of the article was not the history of the browser, but what the browser can do. I decided that it would be best to start off with a historical overview of the browser and the company behind it, but as I dug around (my main focus was on the features, not the history), I realized I had gotten in way over my head, so I had to break the article into a mini-series.

    I still haven’t written part two yet (no, I’m not lazy, I’m still sifting through my notes trying to figure out how to organize everything). I appreciate the comments (and the corrections), especially since I try my best to be as thorough as possible. Yes, I know about MDI acting like tabs in Opera 4, but when I said that tabs were introduced in Opera 5, I meant “in their current form (well, sort of)”. I thought I had made that clear when I mentioned that it was based on the MDI technology that had been developed previously.

    Anyway, if there’s anything I’ve forgotten to add to the historical overview, please by all means let me know and I’ll gladly add it (and cite Opera Watch as the reference). Also, if there’s anything you’d like me to cover in the rest of the (unplanned) mini-series, don’t hesitate to reply here, and I’ll do my best to add it. I’m following this blog’s comments via email, so I’ll do my best to get back to you as soon as possible.

  8. Jezetha
    March 24, 2007 at 2:56 am

    “Looks like most of the posters here are newcomers… :p”

    Hello, veteran! 😉

    A newcomer (March 2006)

  9. March 26, 2007 at 2:57 am

    … Also, if there’s anything you’d like me to cover in the rest of the (unplanned) mini-series, don’t hesitate to reply here, and I’ll do my best to add it…

    Make sure to cover User JavaScript. So many people think that Opera isn’t very customisable or extensible, and while Opera has no extension system, it does have a great API for modifying what happens in webpages. While User JavaScript may not seem like much, even things like in-line spell check can be added through it.

    Also, make sure to mention the fraud protection that was added in Opera 9.10. It’s disabled by default, and I doubt that enough people know it’s there. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
