Home > Acid, Interviews, Standards > My video interview with Opera CTO Hakon Wium Lie

My video interview with Opera CTO Hakon Wium Lie

March 16, 2007

A few weeks ago I had the opportunity to sit down with Håkon Wium Lie, the Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at Opera Software, and do a short interview with him.

Among the topics we touched on were web standards and the Acid2 browser test. On this day two years ago, Hakon announced the Acid2 test in a Cnet column. We also talked about the progress of CSS3 support in Opera and other browsers, such as Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer (IE), and Safari. Hakon is of course known as the “father of CSS” after proposing CSS back in 1995.

Watch the video

Categories: Acid, Interviews, Standards
  1. March 16, 2007 at 3:01 pm

    Nice interview! 🙂

  2. March 16, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    His wikipedia page is pretty thin for a guy who did a lot for the web…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Håkon_Wium_Lie

  3. Jezetha
    March 16, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Seconded.

    You should do this more often, Daniel!

  4. Jezetha
    March 16, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    My ‘seconded’ refers to the first message…

  5. March 16, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Jezetha, I have a couple more interviews with him. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to post them next week.

  6. Grey
    March 16, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    You know… I was about to ask for a transcript… fortunately this PC’s IE has Flash… but now that I’ve seen the interview I get why it would not help that much. A big part of that interview was hearing hakon talk. Really a very nice and charismatic guy!

    And I finally found out how to pronounce his name 😉

  7. March 16, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    Good interview.

    Thanks for choking Hakon’s web address out of him. I’ve always wondered if he had a book on CSS, and there was a link to it right on his homepage.

    Needless to say, that book was ordered before I starting typing this… 😉

  8. March 17, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Grey, why couldn’t you watch the interview in Opera? If Flash doesn’t work in Opera, try installing it Flash again.

    Download

  9. Fraidy Goldman
    March 17, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    Nice video!!!
    🙂

  10. March 19, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    i like this scandinavian guy!

  11. Jezetha
    March 19, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    “Jezetha, I have a couple more interviews with him. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to post them next week.”

    I’m looking forward to them, Daniel!

  12. Jezetha
    March 19, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    I’m looking forward to the remaining interviews, Daniel!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
