Home > Announcements > A quick word about the downtime

A quick word about the downtime

March 7, 2007

In a span of less than 24 hours a couple of my blog posts (“Slashdot Easter egg in the Opera browser” and “My trip to Opera headquarters”) made it to Digg’s homepage (thanks FataL and TreeGo) and other places online. Unfortunately my hosting provider, 1and1, couldn’t handle all the increased traffic.

As a result my site was taken off line by 1and1; now they want me to upgrade my account to a Managed or Dedicated Server. I was trying to get information from them all morning, but didn’t really get much. Their customer care reps simply told me that my account has been escalated to “admin”, the highest level of escalation at 1and1, and that they had no way to reach them in order to find out what’s going on.

Thanks to all who sent me emails alerting me that Opera Watch was down, unfortunately I didn’t get them early enough in time to enable caching. I even got an email from the CEO of Opera (JvT) 🙂 – he does read this blog and the comments here.

I hope this problem will be solved soon. Thanks for understanding.

Categories: Announcements
  1. Nike
    March 7, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    Just a thought: Why dont you ask Opera.com to host you?

  2. March 7, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    Nike, although I work for Opera, this is still my personal blog.

  3. March 7, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Digg and those Slash guys should have a big suitcase with them all the time with a red button in it that they could press to allert you right away when you appear on the front page 🙂

    Or more serious:
    Add a script that will enable caching automaticaly if N users have a referer from Digg or SlashDot in a certain amount of time to the same article.

    PS: Hope things will work out for you and your host, and that this job won’t cost you your house in hosting fees.

    Good luck,
    – ØØ –

  4. March 7, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    I removed the poll on the right sidebar, let’s see if that helps with the bandwidth.

  5. March 7, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Wow — that explains why the photos were loading so slowly. I must have been looking while the site was taking its downward slide into oblivion.

    Glad to see it back up — good luck keeping it that way through the storm!

    (Ironically, Slashdot seems to have passed on the /. shortcut story that Digg enjoyed so much.)

  6. March 7, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Kelson, the /. story made it to Slashdot’s Firehose.

  7. March 8, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Server load issues? Have you talked to FusionXHost yet? Their paid Linux hosting plans are very nice. 😉

    Anyway, I always maintain that MySQL isn’t efficient enough of a database to handle a heavy load. I would believe that PostgreSQL is far more capable of handling the high usage without overtaxing the server.

  8. March 8, 2007 at 12:23 am

    True. I almost submitted it myself, until I saw someone else had, and voted for it. But it didn’t make it to the front page. I suppose it still could. I can’t find an indicator on the Firehose as to whether stories have been rejected or are still pending.

    Out of curiosity, how much traffic did you get from the Firehose? I’m just wondering how it compares to a low-profile Digg post. I’ve had a couple of posts get onto Digg without catching on, and only got around 10 hits or so.

  9. March 8, 2007 at 9:24 am

    @GT500: I’ll take a look at FusionXHost.

    @Kelson: the “slashdot” easter egg post to Firehose didn’t get an enormous amount of clicks, since most of the contents of my post was already written in the description on Firehose, so there was no real need to visit the site. Likewise with Digg, my post on the Opera HQ pictures got much much more clicks than the Slashdot Easter egg one, since the easter egg was already described in the Digg description.

  10. March 8, 2007 at 11:04 am

    it’s good that you’re back 😉

  11. B
    March 8, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    It seems that 1 and 1 sucks worldwide 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
