Home > Desktop, Opera Tips > How to disable Opera's BitTorrent client?

How to disable Opera's BitTorrent client?

February 23, 2007

I get many questions about Opera’s built-in BitTorrent client from Opera users. The most popular question I get is how to disable the Opera browser from downloading the torrent files, and instead use their preferred torrent client.

What’s good for some isn’t for others. I, for example, only use Opera’s built-in BitTorrent client for small downloads, for bigger ones, however, I use a program called BitTornado.

There isn’t any option in the preference dialog (Tools > Preferences) or even on the torrent dialog pop-up (I don’t know why that is). So here’s how to disable it.

To disable the BitTorrent client in Opera:

  1. Copy and paste the following into the address bar (the URL bar): opera:config#BitTorrent|Enable
  2. Unselect “Enable”
  3. Click “Save”

To use another BitTorrent client with Opera:

  1. Go to Tools > Preferences > Advanced > Downloads
  2. Unselect “Hide file types opened with Opera”
  3. Type “torrent” in the Quick find box
  4. Double-click the line that looks like this: application/x-bittorrent torrent
  5. Select “Open with default application”
  6. Click “OK”

(Source)

Categories: Desktop, Opera Tips
  1. February 23, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    I’ve made a quick video tutorial how to disable bittorrent client in Opera, its pretty simple, but video material never hurts. You can download it here: http://ramunas.ezoshosting.com/guide.mpeg

  2. February 23, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Ramunas, I tried playing the video, but couldn’t. Which format is it?

    P.S. You should’ve made the file available as a torrent. 🙂

  3. February 23, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    Its in MPEG4 (DIVX). VLC plays it just fine.

  4. February 23, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Fixed, try again, now it should play just fine.

  5. February 23, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    I had a similar but different request some time ago how to use the torrent functionality build in Opera and an external client (Azureus) at users choice for a torrent-link.
    I posted some ideas and a guide how to achive this with download-settings and refined right-click menu file and additionally there are the menu.ini files for download.

  6. February 23, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Ramunas, nice. It worked.

  7. Nike
    February 23, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    Daniel, dont use bittornado, try utorrent instead. Far better client!

  8. February 25, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Nike, I tried it a long time ago, back when they had issues with their new Java client — but I’ll try again.

  9. February 26, 2007 at 12:07 am

    Another vote for uTorrent here.

  10. masked_superstar
    February 26, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    thank you.

    i’ve been saving then opening, this should save me a click.

  11. February 27, 2007 at 11:52 am

    Sorry, I’ve moved my tutorials to Opera Community now, here’s the link:
    http://my.opera.com/Ramunas/blog/show.dml/774453

  12. Connor
    April 27, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    I think you are thinking Azureus as far as a java bittorrent client. Utorrent is my favorite and would recommend you give it a try. Thanks for the guide.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
