Home > Opera Community > Screenshots of the new Opera Community site

Screenshots of the new Opera Community site

February 22, 2007

A major update to the Opera Community site (my.opera.com) is in the works. You can read all about it on a blog post by the developers working on it. The new site should be out within a month.

I just had a walk around the new site (no it’s not online yet, it’s on the local intranet); it’s looking pretty good. Nice design. Below are a couple screenshots.

The Opera community site has more than 650,000 members, with an average of 1,000 new members joining each day.

myoperapreview1thumb.jpg
(Click to enlarge)

myoperapreview2thumb.jpg
(Click to enlarge)

Categories: Opera Community
  1. johan
    February 22, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    It would be nice if the forums and customize section could received some attention (FAQ for the most asked questions so people doesn’t have to answer the same questions over and over again, Tips & Tricks subforum where users could post new tips and so on) instead of just cosmetic changes for blogs…

    I wonder why Opera makes it so hard for users to share their knowledge with others. Currently everything is placed over the different forums, the wiki, and other sites; it’s just a mess for new users and very discouraging for those who have something to share (why should I care to post my User.js, menu.ini, Python script, whatever if Opera does seem to care less than I do?).

  2. February 22, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    johan: We’re in the process of trying to set up a new fan site dedicated to tips, tricks, userjs, etc. You can read more about it here: http://my.opera.com/community/forums/topic.dml?id=175588

    I do agree that a lot of Opera’s web site needs work. Forum searching is tricky at best, and the tagging system was abandoned (but you can still set tags on a new topic post…) There are numerous problems with various pages on my.opera.com (take a look here: http://my.opera.com/community/forums/forum.dml?id=35 ). I’m hoping that the new my.opera.com fixes some of this.

  3. johan
    February 23, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Yeah, but it should not be necessary at all. This has been very frustrating in the last years but nothing seems to be done. The fact that Opera users care more about basic things (UserJS, ini files, tips, scripts)than Opera itself is quite disappointing, even more when implementing such trivial things is very easy but instead they keep working on blogging features *sigh*.

    It makes you thing about what’s really the purpose of my.opera because the browser itself has less and less importance on the site. Seriously, who cares if a guy bragging about his new ipod is the new “member of the week”?; meanwhile opera users that have something to contribute with are completely ignored and forced to leave my.opera in order to so.

    It would be nice if Daniel could comment about this… 😉

  4. February 23, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Johan, I agree with you. Opera needs to have a better section for helf and FAQs — the basic stuff. There are major changes ahead for my.opera.com and the new site that BAMAToNE referred to. My.Opera will be taking a new direction. The issues you raised were discussed in the company — I’ll follow up on that and make sure something is done about it. I think it’s a necessity.

  5. johan
    February 23, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks Daniel. Glad to hear it. 😉

  6. February 26, 2007 at 4:37 am

    It is good to hear that my.Opera is still in development. It is very important to extend the FAQ and help section. For newbies it is very difficult to use the community. Maybe you should take a look at other communities to see how they realized to make thing easier.

  7. Danny
    March 2, 2007 at 3:52 am

    How about new blog themes/skins for my.opera members? :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
