Home > Desktop > Opera problems on Windows Vista?

Opera problems on Windows Vista?

January 25, 2007

In today’s Personal Tech column in the USA Today, columnist Edward Baig mentioned some problems he ran into while using the Opera browser on the new Windows Vista.

“When I ran the Opera Web browser, the “color scheme” was temporarily downgraded to Vista Basic, something repeated when I launched the InterVideo WinDVD program.”

I’m not familiar with the development details of Opera for Vista, but I recall that in mid-August a team from Opera visited Microsoft to make sure Opera will work well on Windows Vista. I hope they fix this issue before Vista is released.

Have any of you, Vista users, encountered similar issues?

Edit: I’ve spoken with Opera’s Desktop QA head about this issue. Opera was aware of this issue even before the USA Today mentioned it; however he said it’s not a bug or problem with the Opera browser, but rather an issue with Java. This problem can be duplicated with other programs too, as the USA Today already pointed out.

Categories: Desktop
  1. January 25, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    When I was testing earlier builds of Windows Vista I remember it turned off the Aero glass. After some research I had discovered that it had to do with the Java plug-in. The option was to disable Java and Opera stopped changing “the color scheme”. The real answer to that problem was the beta release of the Java Runtime Engine, forgot witch version but I doubt it’s been released, but when using that version it saved the day. The very same thing happened when using other Java based software like LimeWire.

  2. Ben
    January 25, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    I have been using Opera 9 on Vista RC2 for a few months now (I don’t have the RTM version nor do I plan on purchasing the upgrade – I’ll probably be going over to Linux once my RC2 expires) and I have noticed some peculiarities.

    The color scheme changes to basic any time Java in invoked, and I believe this is a problem with the Sun Java side of things as this occurs when any browser accesses Java, including IE and Firefox. An easy way to avoid this happening is to turn Java off in Opera’s preferences (Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Content).

    Certain other plugins used to cause Opera 9 to disable the advanced graphical features of Vista, including Adobe Flash, but this was fixed in Opera a number of builds back. Overall the latest build of Opera for Windows (8701) is very stable under Vista RC2 and, as I said, only turns off Aero glass when a Java applet is loaded. Important note: Aero glass is not restored until the browser is restarted, even if the page with the Java applet has been closed. Occasionally, it is necessary to manually re-enable the Aero glass effects. So, let’s hope Sun gets on the ball and fixes this issue.

  3. Ben
    January 25, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    In addition, there are a number of threads in the Beta forum on My Opera dealing with Vista-related issues.

  4. January 25, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    I’m running Vista RTM. With the latest version of Java installed, Opera works fine with Aero. My only complaint is that the windows inside of Opera when in MDI mode use the Vista Basic theme, and are not translucent like the rest of the windows. Other than that, Opera works fine on Vista.

    One thing to note however; when installing Opera on Vista, if you choose to install for a single user, and install to the default directory (Program Files), unless you explicitly run as administrator every time, Vista automatically redirects writes to the program files directory to a virtual directory for each user. In effect, this behaves as if you had installed for multiple users. If you install to other places such as a flash drive, Vista behaves as it did in previous versions of Windows.

  5. Filip Norrgard
    January 26, 2007 at 1:17 am

    I’m with James Cassell on this one. Works perfectly on Vista RTM. It didn’t work nicely on RC2, where it did’t downgrade the theme from Aero to Basic. Not so any more.

    In fact, Opera is tons more faster in Vista than it ever was in XP (even with the TCPIP connection number hack). Furthermore, I’m running the 64-bit version of Vista with the 32-bit Opera and everything is working nicely. 🙂

  6. Kc4
    January 26, 2007 at 1:26 am

    Meh let vista rot in hell, from the screenshots I have seen I don’t see what is so revolutionary about its new waste of hardware graphics…

  7. January 26, 2007 at 4:45 am

    No problems here with Opera 9.12 and Windows XP Professional, Windows XP Professional x64, Windows Vista Business, and Windows Vista Business x64.

    The only issue is Opera not being native x64 application, not a big deal since plugins like Flash and QuickTime are still no x64.

  8. JH
    January 27, 2007 at 4:27 am

    issue with Java? Which version? Java 6 should work fine with Vista. I heard that Java 5 had problems with Vista.

  9. January 27, 2007 at 8:49 am

    The actual problem is in the QuickTIme Player and can be repaired bych chcecking the Safemode in QuickTime Preferences…

  10. January 30, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    I’m on Vista RC1 and I have no problems whatsoever with Opera on it. In fact, it loads faster than on XP for me!

  11. February 5, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    This Opera 9.X uncomfortable!
    http://www.hot.ee/opera9grandsurprise/

  12. mattc
    February 9, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    I had problems with opera 9.10 and 9.20 on vista rc2. PC also has IE7 of course, and firefox.

    At youtube, on initial visit to site, a music video will play both video and sound on the 1st video. If I try another music video, or any other video for that matter, I only get video, NO SOUND. Even after exiting opera and restarting, music is dead until reboot. IE7 and firefox both work great. Removed opera for now. Tried everything to fix it. Nothing worked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
