Home > Opera Mini > Opera Mini turns one year old; 10 million active users; Birthday party tomorrow

Opera Mini turns one year old; 10 million active users; Birthday party tomorrow

January 25, 2007

Welcome Digg users. If you haven’t tried Opera Mini yet, give it a test run, it will most likely change your mobile browsing habits – it’s easy and free. On your mobile phone, go to www.operamini.com to install.

Congratulations the one year old Opera Mini!!

The Opera Mini Team just posted about its one year anniversary/birthday. A year ago yesterday, Opera launched its new baby, Opera Mini.

Opera Mini is different
I hate using buzz words such as “revolutionized”, but that’s what Opera Mini did. With most traditional browsers on low to mid level mobile phones you only had a WAP browser, which meant you could just browse websites that were specifically designed for mobile phones. With Opera Mini, however, you could browse nearly all websites, from Gmail and Bloglines to MySpace and eBay. Everyone is using Opera Mini, even dolphins.

Tease… Tease…
In the coming months Opera will further revolutionize mobile browsing with Opera Mini; it will make it much easier to browse — I’m dying to talk more about it, but for now I’ll just have to keep it to myself.

10 million Opera Mini users worldwide
In the short 12 months of its existence, Opera Mini has amassed more than 10 million (that’s 10,000,000) active users. I don’t know what percentage of it came by word of mouth, but I assume it’s a big one. Opera did virtually no advertising for it, yet it managed to get a strong foothold in the mobile browsing market. If you make a good product, it will sell itself. In our case it was our happy Opera Mini users who spread the word.

The fact that Opera Mini is free and very easy to install (by going to http://www.operamini.com), no doubt made it easier for our users to spread the Opera Mini word.

Distribution of Opera Mini
Over the past year Opera has also struck deals with countless content providers to provide custom, branded versions of Opera Mini, such as with eBay Germany and a special version for NFL and NCAA sports fans (by 4INFO).

Opera Mini is also being pre-installed by some handset manufactures (Samsung) and mobile phone carriers/operators, such as T-Mobile and Telefonica. These deals were huge for Opera.

Birthday tomorrow
In honor of Opera Mini’s first birthday, Opera will be hosting a virtual birthday party at www.operamini.com/bday.

Opera Mini Developer Chat
If you have any questions about Opera Mini that has been irking you, now is your chance. There will be an Opera Mini developer chat tomorrow; you could submit your questions already now in the comments of the Opera Mini team blog. You’ll also have a chance to win some Opera goodies.

Thanks
In closing I would like to thank the Opera Mini team for this great browser; I use it all the time. And let’s not forget each and every one of you, the 10 million users who’ve installed it – thanks. If not for you, there would be no point in continuing the development of Opera Mini. And finally, to all who helped spread the word of Opera Mini – a big thanks.


Additional Opera Mini links

Categories: Opera Mini
  1. January 25, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Regarding your image:

    1)Menu->Tools->Font Size: Small
    2) * *

    ahhhhh that’s much better.

  2. January 25, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    Eddie, not sure what you mean by that.

  3. January 25, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Daniel-

    Well, maybe it’s because I missed the “settings” menu…

    Menu->Tools->Settings->Font Size: Small

    🙂

    (I was applying my personal prefs to your screenshot of Mini)

  4. kftgr
    January 25, 2007 at 8:33 pm

    “About the Opera browser
    …more than 9 million Opera Mini users…”

    Time to update that description. Congrats!

  5. Mazam
    January 25, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    I used om almost everyday. And i’m very proud of it.

  6. January 26, 2007 at 9:14 am

    kftgr, it seems like I gotta update it every month — but that’s a good thing. 🙂

  7. January 26, 2007 at 9:50 am

    I would love it if I could increase the font size in Opera Mini. I’m not sure if Opera Mini displays text as small as on mine by default on everyone’s, or if it’s just an issue with my phone, or what. But it’s kind of annoying. I think I read that Opera Mobile can increase font size, but the version that is available for my phone (T-Mobile SDA) is slightly out of date. 😦

    If I’ve already run the 10 day trial or whatever it is and removed the program, can I install it again and get another free trial? Hmm… worth a shot.

  8. January 26, 2007 at 10:21 am

    Answering my own questions: There is a 30 day trial (not 10). Also, you cannot run the free trial again even after uninstalling the program and reinstalling it.

  9. kajtTV@yahoo.com
    January 26, 2007 at 11:38 am

    anybody know how many users worldwide use mobile phone to browse web? not only trough opera

  10. Opera_Mini
    January 26, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I use Opera Mini to keep up in Google Reader mostly every day, it’s great!

  11. January 26, 2007 at 12:46 pm

    “2,000,000,000th mobile phone user worldwide was connected over the first weekend in June 2006 and new users are signing up at the rate of 1000 per minute, says the GSM Association.”

    According to:
    http://www.itfacts.biz/index.php?id=P6741

  12. January 26, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I use Opera Mini on a Blackberry 7250 from Verizon Wireless. I like Opera Mini so much more than the installed browser that came with my Blackberry. There is one feature that I have on the Blackberry browser but don’t see in Opera Mini. With the Blackberry browser, I can click to bring up the menu and then click ‘hide’ to make the browser go into the background so I can use another application. Opera Mini does not seem to have a hide feature. The only way I can hide the application is to quit out of it which I prefer not to do. Is this feature already there and I don’t see it? If not, are there plans to add it?

    I also have a fantasy feature that I would love to see. Is there any possibility of adding tabbed browsing to Opera Mini? Those two features would make Opera Mini the perfect browser for me on the Blackberry.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
