Home > Marketing, Opera Community > Two college students embark on an Opera video documentary

Two college students embark on an Opera video documentary

January 22, 2007

A couple college students from the Toronto, Canada are setting out to create an Opera video documentary entitled: “Who’s UR Browser!?

From their post on Facebook “The goal of this documentary is to bring to the general public’s attention what Opera has to offer, (such as widgets, the password wand, pop-up blocking, custom skins and so much more), and to get them to switch to Opera from the awful Internet Explorer and the degrading Firefox.” (Daniel’s 2 cents: Firefox is not degrading, it’s an excellent browser – Opera is better, however)

I think this is a great idea, but I hope they realize that most users don’t care about Widgets, etc.; the average user just wants to simply browse the web without much interaction or interference from the browser.

I suggest reading this previous post entitled “How do you go about promoting the Opera browser? How do you convince them to try Opera?” It’s important to first realize the browsing needs of the one you’re trying to convince to use Opera, before you go on and on about the User JavaScript support in the Opera browser – my grandmother doesn’t want to hear that.

Simple and easy concepts such as security, pop-up blocking, and fraud protection are usually a safe bet for non-techie users (IMHO).

Like I said, I think it’s great that Opera fans are taking such initiatives to bring more awareness to the browser. We need more of that, specifically on college and university campuses (where students are more open to the idea of trying out a new browser).

If you or others need any assistance from me or Opera, just shoot me an email. Perhaps you need some flyers or Opera goodies. 🙂

Show these Opera fans your support, join their Facebook group. Give ‘em some love! (By the way, there’s another popular Opera Facebook group, I’ve joined it).

(Thanks Charlie for the email)

Categories: Marketing, Opera Community
  1. January 22, 2007 at 11:56 am

    Go, Toronto. 🙂

  2. January 22, 2007 at 11:57 am

    I would stress Open Web/Standards high on the list.

    Mobiles, Game Consoles, the more we connect the devices of the world, the more important it is to understand what all these new devices have to say.

  3. January 22, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Eddie, Open Web/Standards are not enough of a reason for most users to switch to Opera.

  4. January 22, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    I did say “high on the list” as in “addition to the other ‘Opera roxorz!'” stuff that’s going to come up…and I mentioned it in the context of Mini and Wii and other devices. Although I’d love to discuss Open Standards and how its more important than Open Source to anyone who chooses a browser based only on that criteria (of which there are some)

    You said in your post that “Opera is better” but of course, that’s subjective. “Better” really depends on what you want out of a client. There’s your client, then there’s the web. Users should have the right to choose the best way to access the web….but there should be an even playing field regardless of what they choose.

  5. Roberto
    January 22, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    Letting people know about Opera and its features is enough. In most cases they do not use it because they do not know it or they do not know how it works.

    Think about regular users and do not waist your. time trying to convince fanboys. (However, show them this if you want to have some fun).

  6. Yahia Chlyeh
    January 22, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Skins. Skins are also important to mention for average users.
    A large number of people, users or not, don’t know that Opera is skinnable. This feature is pretty appreciated in Firefox, that’s why it should be spreaded.

    Also, I agree with Daniel that Firefox isn’t a degrading browser. (Why did they put is this way?)
    I think Firefox is the best browser when it comes for average joe to switch from tha haunting IE, since the Firefox’ interface and ways of interaction are close to IE’s in some way.

    Speaking for myself, I don’t think I would have switched to Opera if it wasn’t from Firefox 🙂

  7. January 23, 2007 at 11:14 am

    Well,I think you need something to promote a product, so I made some wallpapers,on one of them I’ve put ‘opera mini’ . People are really happy to have an in their pocket,what’s bad about it!

  8. January 23, 2007 at 11:20 am

    yes, I did download opera browser for my pc, but now a dayas I use only opera mini and my k750i

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
