Home > Marketing > Help Opera design posters for college dorm rooms

Help Opera design posters for college dorm rooms

December 12, 2006

Last week when I mailed out Opera stickers to users, I noticed that many of the addresses were to colleges and universities (I still have some stickers left to give away, btw). This got me thinking about creating Opera posters for college students to post on their dorm rooms.

Students are generally more open to trying out new things; let’s get Opera on the campuses.

We’d like to reach out to our talented users who would offer to pitch in their help to the Opera community in spreading the Opera browser. Opera needs your help with poster ideas and designs.

The posters have to be cool enough for college and university students to want to post it on their dormitory room walls. Perhaps you could include pictures of cool and attractive looking people.

Grab some Opera logos and images here, and show the world the talent you’ve got. I have 5 Opera t-shirts to give out to those who create the best posters. I’ll post all user submitted posters online (most likely on Opera’s website)

When you’re done creating the poster, send me an email (my email address can be found on the right sidebar of this blog) with the poster files as an attachment. Be sure to include the words “Opera Poster” followed by your last name, this will keep your email from ending up in my spam folder.

Categories: Marketing
  1. December 12, 2006 at 12:15 pm

    Well, just to let you know Daniel..I’m gonna be working on a poster to contribute, but to warn you..it probably won’t be great or even worth a t-shirt, haha. The college campus’ are a great idea tho..I’ve been saying this now for years tho, the first few with no reaction. Glad to see things changing now tho!

  2. December 12, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    Yay!, another contest!

    Too bad I stink at drawing :/

  3. December 12, 2006 at 12:34 pm

    This is one of the better champaign ideas I have heard in quite a wile… Good idea!

    I think you should contact Opera Software and ask for help with printing and the poster distribution.

    Please do at least have a option for international users to pay for the extra cost of having this poster mailed to them. Many, me included, would be interested in an Opera poster. (or two…)

  4. December 12, 2006 at 12:58 pm

    Aleksandersen, I work for Opera. 🙂

    Regarding distribution, it won’t be limited to just the US.

  5. December 12, 2006 at 2:19 pm

    i wish you could send some stickers to me here at brazil. 🙂 will the winner earn some prize?

  6. December 12, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    ThiagoHP, that’s a good idea — I’ll include an Opera sticker with the t-shirt. 🙂

  7. Ryan
    December 12, 2006 at 2:46 pm

    I have no idea how to draw anything, but the colors of the college here match Opera’s perfectly. (We’re the Red Raiders.) I think I might be able to cook something up over my upcoming break though.

  8. December 12, 2006 at 3:24 pm

    I think that poster should be designed not only for colleges, but for every-possible-place 🙂

  9. December 12, 2006 at 5:48 pm

    Until when will the contest run?

  10. December 12, 2006 at 6:45 pm

    Making a pretty poster is one thing. Making a pretty poster functional is another. Opera could include a few keyboard shortcuts or mouse gestures to help teach users a few new tricks every day. These could take up a small amount of space at the bottom of the poster, with the rest being dominated by a Big O, the text Opera, and “Simply the Best Internet Experience”

  11. December 12, 2006 at 6:50 pm

    IceArdor,

    I own an Opera mousepad that explains several mouse gestures. We need to make more of those…

  12. December 12, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    babox, good question. Hmm… let’s make it January 1st. (Nice site, btw).

  13. Dava
    December 12, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    Lawmune,

    Where would I get one of those mouse mats?! What a great idea. These are the kind of gimmicks asses like me buy into. Sure I’m too Operaified, but there are others that can be converted.

    Dava

  14. December 12, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    Perhaps we should add the Opera mouse pad to the Opera store.

  15. Investor
    December 12, 2006 at 11:01 pm

    Indeed you should… great idea 😉

  16. December 13, 2006 at 3:52 pm

    [quote=Daniael]
    Regarding distribution, it won’t be limited to just the US.
    [/quote]

    When are you going to understand that you need to send all this back to Norway, so we can get them here..:) Do I need to stop at Operas offices on my way home from work to get a sticker..:D

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
