Home > Marketing > I have free Opera stickers to give away – help promote Opera

I have free Opera stickers to give away – help promote Opera

December 5, 2006

Some Opera users have been asking in the Opera Forums for Opera stickers. I’ve got some.

If you’d like an Opera sticker to put on your laptop, send me an email (my email address can be found on the right sidebar) with your mailing address details (sorry only US addresses, for now). I’ll send a free sticker to the first 100 Opera fans to email me. Please include the words “Opera Sticker” and your last name in the email subject.

The sticker (pictured on the right) reads “There’s an Opera in my laptop”. This is an excellent way to help in promoting the Opera desktop browser. Let everyone around you know you’re using the Opera browser.

Next time Opera creates these kinds of stickers, I think they should contain the word “browser”, as in “There’s an Opera browser in my laptop”. Otherwise, the word “Opera” could be a bit vague.

I also have a bunch of Opera t-shirts, Opera pens, Opera pins, etc. to give out at another time. I’m looking for contest ideas to give these out here on Opera Watch, any ideas?

Categories: Marketing
  1. serious
    December 5, 2006 at 12:55 am

    oh, only US 😦 is there some way to order opera stickers for europe? *want sticker*

  2. Ryan
    December 5, 2006 at 1:19 am

    You could always go to Opera’s headquarters. 😛

  3. December 5, 2006 at 1:23 am

    For the t-shirt competition, it could be sort of similar to the nokia commercials done on the Opera Community, where contestants have to have a picture of them in the most exotic place they can imagine. And then digitally add in the Opera t-shirt.

    Depending on how many apply and how many pens and pins you have, you could award those as party favors for entering the competition (or as “Honorable Mentions”)

    Or you could hold multiple different competitions, each in a different category with a different prompt, with the level of prizes.

  4. December 5, 2006 at 1:53 am

    I just sent mine in. Living in the US pays off for once.

  5. December 5, 2006 at 3:21 am

    As you are now working for Opera, you should ask them to offer stickers to Norwegian citizens! 🙂 Won’t be expensive for them to send to us and I WANT a sticker on my laptop! 😉

  6. December 5, 2006 at 3:32 am

    Thats it… aim and shoot Daniel!!!! Death to you.. DEATH TO YOU… no stickers for opera lovers outside the U.S… blasphemy I say.

  7. Arepo
    December 5, 2006 at 3:53 am

    I had one of these stickers on my laptop. They are very cool but they get ragged and faded real quick because they are not plasticized. If you don’t seal them somehow you’ll most likely be peeling them off in a week.

  8. Holger Dors
    December 5, 2006 at 3:55 am

    What a great sticker! But please, do not add the word “Browser” to the slogan, it is much better as it is now, leaving the reader in a bit of confusion, which probably results in more asking questions… 🙂

  9. December 5, 2006 at 8:31 am

    How about that, a norwegian company neglecting their home market. Can someone put their sticker on eBay or something 😉

  10. Verlf
    December 5, 2006 at 8:39 am

    so this blog is about promoting stickers now?

    Seriously, i can barely remember the latest interesting post on here. And it used to be great.

  11. EC
    December 5, 2006 at 8:50 am

    What if I don’t have a laptop?

    What if I do have a laptop, but I don’t have Opera on there?

    Can I still get one?

  12. Croft
    December 5, 2006 at 9:57 am

    The slogan has to be a bit vague by design. “There is an Opera in my laptop” will make people look twice and actually engage their brains for a second, but “There is an Opera browser in my laptop” is a totally dull informational message.

  13. December 5, 2006 at 10:01 am

    @Arepo, the sticker on my laptop is still on good, I’ve had it on for a few weeks already.

    @Verlf, oh stop complaining. 🙂

    @EC, Before I send out the sticker I need to verify that you’re using Opera on your laptop. :p

  14. Poschi
    December 5, 2006 at 10:16 am

    Hi,

    I’m european and I really need this sticker!!!

    Poschi

  15. December 5, 2006 at 10:17 am

    I will gladly but one in on my laptop as soon as you open the give away to Canada 😉

    For contest ideas I would suggest something that makes us create promotion for Opera. Like Opera promotional videos (Firefox Flicks style), or stories of how Opera came on top in very weird situations…

  16. December 5, 2006 at 10:38 am

    Please, when you give the t-shirts, allow people outside US to receive them…

    I’m in Brazil and would like a Opera T-shirt 😉

  17. Stahn
    December 5, 2006 at 11:19 am

    Yeah… we can use some sort of distribution here on South America.

  18. December 5, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    I guess that living in Canada is “close but no cigar”? 😀

  19. Hmm
    December 5, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    How about that, a norwegian company neglecting their home market.

    Population, Norway: 4,667,410
    Population, U.S.: 300,358,397

    I get the feeling that the US is a slightly bigger market than Norway… Don’t know why 🙂

  20. December 5, 2006 at 3:33 pm

    I just sent out the first batch of Opera stickers to those who emailed me. I still have a bunch more, send me an email before I run out of stickers.

    -Daniel

  21. Ryan
    December 5, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Thanks. 😀

  22. December 5, 2006 at 4:40 pm

    hmmm, I posted a message earlier, but has not shown up here yet. Is the spam filter filtering out my messages? Anyway. Thanks Daniel!

  23. December 5, 2006 at 8:37 pm

    Don’t forget us Asian Opera fans too! 😀

  24. Adrian
    December 5, 2006 at 9:29 pm

    Opera is nice, but I am waiting for a Linux version that can go 2 hours without crashing.

  25. December 5, 2006 at 10:24 pm

    a sticker for my mobile would be great *wink* a small circular banner would do just fine 🙂

  26. December 6, 2006 at 2:24 am

    I would go for a sticker, except for the fact that I hate having stickers on my laptop. Aside from the “Built on ASUS” and NVIDIA stickers that came with it, that is.

    Granted my wide screen has more than enough space for about 4 of those stickers (assuming they aren’t much more than 5 inches wide), but I have this weird aversion to sticking things on my computers…

    BTW: We need more variety. Like a sticker pack. Or a book of stickers. All shapes and sizes, some with slogans, and some with just logos and/or the company name. I’d buy a book of stickers. They could throw it on a site with things like Opera coffee cups, Opera office supplies (pens, pads of paper, rulers, etc), Opera licence plate frames (for your car), etc. I’d buy those too… 😉

  27. December 6, 2006 at 10:02 am

    If only they had a sticker that said something about Opera being so fast that you’ll soil yourself…. like your pants or something.

  28. tbc
    December 9, 2006 at 8:20 am

    @Adrian: perhaps something is wrong with your linux box. My linux desktop that I never turn off runs Opera for *weeks* w/o chashing.

  29. Ryan
    December 9, 2006 at 1:07 pm

    Hehe, I got my sticker a few days ago and didn’t even know it. I thought the college was stopping mail when I should have gotten the sticker. I went ahead and checked my mail anyway, and I found the sticker in there. 😛

    Thanks again Daniel. 😀

  30. December 14, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    Very funny, Eddie 😉

    (you *are* kidding, right?)

  31. Freddie F
    December 18, 2006 at 9:46 am

    Don’t add ‘browser’ to the slogan, it takes all the strength out of it, you know, like the U2 song, ‘I had opera in my head’ or whatever it was. It suggests something great and majestic.

  32. December 30, 2006 at 3:38 am

    I received my Opera sticker! I took some pictures so you all can see how it looks! I know this post is a little late, but if they ever give stickers out again..you can check these out to get an idea of the looks..

    http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/9103/smallimg0051mg7.jpg
    http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/1853/smallimg0052zz5.jpg
    http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/6834/smallimg0053jk3.jpg
    http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/4711/smallimg0054bw9.jpg
    ..well, hope you all are enjoying your Opera stickers as much as I am mine!

  33. December 30, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    kyleabaker, looking good! 🙂

  34. TheTermite
    January 14, 2007 at 2:45 am

    Hey so are the stickers still being given away? 🙂

  35. March 14, 2007 at 1:41 am

    I’d love to get a hold of one these stickers!
    Do you still have them. if not, would you be so kind to point me to where to get a sticker like that.

  36. March 14, 2007 at 7:58 am

    OperaUser, send me an email with your mailing address.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
