Home > Opera on Nintendo > Where is the Opera browser on the Nintendo Wii?

Where is the Opera browser on the Nintendo Wii?

November 20, 2006

By now you most likely already heard that the Opera browser along with some other Wii channels is not available just yet. No release date has been announced yet, but Nintendo did say that details on the availability of the browser will be released in the coming weeks.

I can’t wait to watch YouTube videos on my TV set (through the Wii).

Categories: Opera on Nintendo
  1. November 20, 2006 at 12:56 pm

    Revolutionary…

    Why don’t you just plug in your computer to your TV?

  2. November 20, 2006 at 1:48 pm

    Did you really buy a Wii? 😀

  3. November 20, 2006 at 1:50 pm

    FataL, I haven’t bought a Wii yet, I just got back from Webmaster World in Las Vegas last night. But it’s definitely on my shopping list.

  4. November 20, 2006 at 5:16 pm

    Why don’t you just plug in your computer to your TV?

    I actually used to do that back in the 1980s. Atari used to make a line of personal computers (which could also play their own line of cartridge-based games) which would hook up to a regular TV instead of a monitor.

    I learned programming on those, picking up Pilot, Logo, and a tiny amount of Basic.

  5. kftgr
    November 20, 2006 at 6:23 pm

    yay, got a Wii…but no Opera makes it 😦 Can’t wait for it…just hope that “soon” is really soon.

  6. GereGere
    November 21, 2006 at 10:30 am

    “Why don’t you just plug in your computer to your TV?”

    My computer is noisy. (And ugly.)

    It’s in a different room.

    There’s no space for it next to the TV.

    The cable would get in the way.

  7. Tyler
    November 29, 2006 at 1:06 pm

    “I can’t wait to watch YouTube videos on my TV set (through the Wii).”

    Does the wii have a media player that will allow the playing of movies such as ones on YouTube? or will its just not show up?

  8. November 29, 2006 at 1:11 pm

    Tyler, YouTube videos use Flash, the Opera browser support Flash, off course. 🙂

  9. December 4, 2006 at 7:31 am

    Just because it supports Flash on Windows doesn’t mean it can support it on the Wii. Remember, Adobe creates the Flash client, not Opera Software.

  10. TC!
    December 4, 2006 at 6:33 pm

    Yep, but videos from Nintendo showing that it supports Flash content means that it will:
    http://uk.wii.com/movies/internetchannel/

    It’s revolutionary because it will give you a simple remote control style to browse the internet. Just plugging your computer into your television won’t do that.

  11. 1upluigi
    December 7, 2006 at 3:05 pm

    *Read This And The Ninten-Gods Will Love You!*

    I got three of these and paid it off on ebay! I practically got one free! My main concern is the lack of channels! 😦 I WAN’T MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also think there should have been enough Wii Points to get one SNES and N64 game! (600 for SNES, 1000 for N64 so that is like $15.50 worth…) Plus, the games don’t cost Nintendo a penny because they make one and let everyone download that one! That means they are paying for ONE GAME!!!! I also got Twilite Princess but I have to wait till christmas……..MAN!! Oh well, I waited 2-3 YEARS for it, so I guess 12 days isn’t that bad! w00t! 12 days! Does anyone know when there will be a news channel or weather channel or Internet channel ready to download? I know that if you don’t download the Internet channel with in a month in a half of its release that you have to use Wii Points to get it! Man that would suck! Nintendo Is Using OPERA For Its Web Browser!!!!!!!!!! Where is my Wirless play like on the DS?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    If you want to get my Wii code, e-mail me!
    guyofgod@sbcglobal.net

  12. Matt
    January 2, 2007 at 2:41 am

    im using the opera browser on my ds right now

  13. Matt
    January 2, 2007 at 2:46 am

    P.S. this doesnt support flash…but its free internet after you buy the browser : )

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
