Home > Announcements > Joining Opera Software as a Technical Evangelist

Joining Opera Software as a Technical Evangelist

October 25, 2006

Greetings from Opera headquarters in Oslo, Norway.

I’ve accepted a position at Opera Software as Opera’s first Technical Evangelist.

As part of my job, I will focus primarily on the desktop browser – particularly on the United States (US) market. The Asian and European markets have traditionally been the stronghold for the Opera browser, while the US market lagged behind a bit.

Being the capital of the world with respect to the Internet and communications, Opera recognizes the importance of the desktop market share in the US. An increased usage of the desktop browser in the US is essential for our success worldwide.

I plan on attending Opera user meetups and events, as well as conferences to meet and speak with Opera users and prospective users too. I’ll be at the Webmaster World conference in Las Vegas (November 14 – 17), Opera’s CEO will be giving a keynote address there.

One of the advantages of meeting and speaking to many Opera users is that I’ll get the feel of what features users want added or modified in the browser. I’ll have direct access to our development teams, and I’ll work hard at making sure those features that our users dream of, turn into reality.

Being that I will work out of the US (east coast), I’ll also work on helping out with new US product launches, such as Opera Mini, Nintendo Wii, DS browser, Sony mylo, etc. Maybe I could even get my hands on some of these new products to demo to people I meet. It would be cool if I could get the new Sony mylo when it comes out.

I’m sure many of you are wondering what will happen to Opera Watch. Well, Opera Watch will change – for the better, of course.

Although I won’t be able to talk about company secrets (it wouldn’t be constructive if our competitors find out our strategy or details of an unreleased feature), I will, however, talk more openly about the non-sensitive information that Opera users would like to know about. My goal is to make Opera, the company, more blogger-friendly.

What about objectivity? Rest assured if there is something I dislike or disagree with, I wouldn’t lie about it. If something is not okay, I won’t tell you everything is fine.

There are multiple outsider blogs that cover the Opera browser, such as Avencius and the Opera Lover blog (see more Opera blogs at the Opera Planet). This may also be a great opportunity for you to start an Opera blog of your own, now that my blog has become an insider’s blog. I’ll help you get started, if you’d like.

I feel fortunate and lucky to be in the position where I am now. When I started the Opera Watch blog over two years ago, I had no idea (or desire) that it will eventually land me a job at Opera. I started it merely as a way for me to keep up with Opera news and happenings.

I owe much of my success to you, the thousands of RSS subscribers and to those who linked and/or posted comments to my posts. The links and comments are what kept me going here on Opera Watch. Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

Thanks to those at Opera Software who believed in me, in particular Dean Kakridas, one of Opera’s VPs. Over the last few months I’ve had the privilege of a close working relationship with Dean. He is one of the most passionate people I’ve ever met, who really wants to see Opera become the dominate browser. Dean is truly an asset to the company and to us Opera users.

Tim “Junyor” Altman was also very helpful to me with his advice, including his last minute call a few hours before my flight to Norway. Thanks.

There are lots of challenges and obstacles that lie ahead for Opera. I look forward to my future with Opera, and doing my share in making Opera a better browser (than it already is) and more popular.

Let the fun begin.

Categories: Announcements
  1. October 25, 2006 at 7:08 am

    Congratulations, and well deserved!

  2. October 25, 2006 at 7:11 am

    Congrats! 🙂

  3. October 25, 2006 at 7:27 am

    Congratulations!

  4. October 25, 2006 at 7:28 am

    Congrats Daniel.

  5. Bo
    October 25, 2006 at 7:43 am

    First of all: Congrats!

    > Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

    And thanks for given us a good reason to subscribe to your Feed 🙂

  6. October 25, 2006 at 7:47 am

    Congratulations, Daniel.

  7. October 25, 2006 at 8:25 am

    Congratulations, I’m sure you’ll do an excellent job for Opera, as you have for a long time already. About time you’re getting paid for it 😉 Say hi to everyone from me 🙂

  8. October 25, 2006 at 8:53 am

    Congrats and best wishes! 😀

  9. October 25, 2006 at 9:03 am

    Congratulations for becoming Operas answer to Chris Messina.

    – ØØ –

  10. October 25, 2006 at 9:06 am

    Welcome to Norway 🙂 Congratulations on your new job.

  11. EC
    October 25, 2006 at 9:07 am

    Wow! Cool! I can’t believe it!

    Well done, Operawatch. Good luck to you!

    > Thanks from the bottom of my heart.

    You’re welcome!

  12. October 25, 2006 at 9:24 am

    Congratulations! Proficiat! 😉

  13. Dane
    October 25, 2006 at 9:41 am

    Congratulations!

    Just to clear any ambiguity – this is the “big announcement”, right? 🙂

  14. October 25, 2006 at 9:42 am

    Congrats!

    Now get to work and help me get an event together in MN! 🙂

  15. Ryan
    October 25, 2006 at 9:46 am

    Congratulations! 😀

  16. October 25, 2006 at 9:49 am

    Wow, that’s awesome, Danny! Congrats. 🙂

  17. October 25, 2006 at 10:09 am

    Congratulations dude! 🙂

  18. October 25, 2006 at 10:12 am

    Welcome to the team! And you’re welcome. 🙂 I hope the Norwegian customs folks treated you well. 😉

  19. YtseJam
    October 25, 2006 at 10:42 am

    Finally someone to push for better BiDi support. 😉 😛

  20. October 25, 2006 at 11:44 am

    congraulations. evangelicalize away!

  21. October 25, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    Congratulations! 🙂

  22. October 25, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    Congratulations !

  23. October 25, 2006 at 1:17 pm

    Now that you’re an insider, please tell the powers that be to make Opera much better at rendering nonstandard webpages. I know you griped about it before, let’s hope you now have an official say about it. And congrats! 😀

  24. October 25, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    I’ve already said welcome and congrats elsewhere, but I just wanted to give three cheers to the fact that our desktop team in the US is growing steadily 😀

    and I need a mylo, too 😉

    See you in Vegas!

  25. October 25, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    Congratulations!

    Keep Opera top notch!

  26. October 25, 2006 at 4:19 pm

    Congrats Daniel :D, but we’ll miss you 😦

  27. Wajo357
    October 25, 2006 at 4:50 pm

    Mazel Tov! 😉

  28. Jezetha
    October 25, 2006 at 6:07 pm

    Great news! Inform the world and keep us posted!

  29. October 25, 2006 at 6:14 pm

    well deserved, now tell us all from the heart of the machine!

  30. Matthew McGowan
    October 25, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    Wow glad to see your loyalty and enthusiasm for all things Opera has been recognised, in what must be a very exciting way for you. You will surely do allot of good, good luck and have fun!

  31. October 25, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    Hopefully this position will give you the resources and the power to spread Opera like Firefox. Best of luck at your new job, and thanks.

  32. October 26, 2006 at 1:43 am

    dream become true!
    congratulations

  33. October 26, 2006 at 3:57 am

    Congrats Daniel, you definitely have earned the privilege of working with the best, kudos and keep up the good work.

    Rgds,

    J.J

  34. October 26, 2006 at 4:00 am

    Congratulations. Best wishes going forward.

  35. October 26, 2006 at 5:04 am

    Congrats on your new job! 🙂

  36. October 27, 2006 at 1:01 am

    congrats daniel!!

  37. October 27, 2006 at 10:24 am

    Mazel tov. תלך מחיל אל חיל!

  38. October 28, 2006 at 3:06 am

    You’re right man!
    Let The Fun Begin !! 😀

  39. Sidlon
    October 28, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    Seriously, well done! You’ve definitely earned this.

  40. October 29, 2006 at 1:08 pm

    @Heathen Dan

    Now that you’re an insider, please tell the powers that be to make Opera much better at rendering nonstandard webpages.

    That’s not the problem. Opera has always supported all sorts of non-standard code. The main problem is that sites simply block Opera.

  41. October 30, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    I seem to be late to the party, but congratulations!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
