Home > Announcements > Major changes to Opera Watch on the horizon

Major changes to Opera Watch on the horizon

October 4, 2006

In the coming days (or week) I’ll have a major announcement to make regarding some changes for Opera Watch.

These changes, I hope, will be to your benefit. Over the past couple years that I’ve been running Opera Watch I was lucky enough to gain a loyal following in the Opera Community. Through Opera Watch we’ve been able to generate more buzz in the blogosphere for the Opera browser; with these changes I plan on taking it to the next level.

Some of the last details were finalized today, so I haven’t had a chance to fully think about the announcement and the manner it would be made. I’ll be traveling over the next couple weeks (leaving this Friday), and the availability of an internet connection for me will be sparse. But I hope to make this announcement sometime next week.

– Filed under the teaser dept. 🙂

Categories: Announcements
  1. October 4, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    Some changes are coming in Opera Community too.

  2. October 4, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    This is an announcement about us possibly making a future announcement announcing a yet further forthcoming announcement. The initial announcement is about to be announced.

  3. Ebola_Influenza
    October 4, 2006 at 3:26 pm

    hey Opera,

    just fyi, since the poll in the right-side frame asks … the first time i ever considered even looking at another browser was when you announced Opera’s “bork” version (v.7.54?) that showed how MS messed up MSN/Hotmail accounts. it piqued my curiosity, and i never looked back!

    %$^&* fine browser!

  4. October 4, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    That’s two days before you leave to announce! plenty of time. I’ll expect your notice by thursday evening, thank you very much.

    Sincerely,
    Eddie

  5. October 4, 2006 at 4:43 pm

    Eddie, I will try my best. I’m kind of busy these days.

  6. October 4, 2006 at 6:06 pm

    Spoiler Alert On The OW Announcement

    **********
    Do Not Read Past This
    **********
    OW is planning on switching to Firefox. Ben Goodger will be the new lead writer.

    **********

    Ok, ok… it wasn’t really a spoiler. :p Enjoy your travel Daniel. 🙂 I enjoy OW and can’t wait to see what you’ve got planned. 🙂

  7. October 4, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    Congratuations on landing yourself a job at Opera? Hmm, I’m curious.

  8. Ryan
    October 4, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    I hope not. That would mean he wouldn’t be able to post very much inside scoop with the nondisclosure agreement. I bet he got a job with somebody else though (like a tech news site). 😛

  9. October 5, 2006 at 10:32 am

    I too thought he signed on with Opera. But if he just became an employee, would there be “details” to finalize?

    Hmmmm curious indeed.

  10. Rick
    October 5, 2006 at 11:07 am

    Wait, didn’t most people already think this site was a wholly-owned subsidiary of Opera Inc? If he goes to work for Opera, I really doubt anyone would notice the difference.

    I hope the “change” means that Opera Watch actually becomes what the name implies, and far less a publicity and advocacy arm for the company.

  11. October 5, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Nah, he’s changing the name to “MusicalTheaterBrowser Watch” for trademark reasons. 😉

  12. October 6, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    He is switching to IE…:eek:

  13. October 7, 2006 at 11:11 am

    Actually, rumors have it that he has been hired by Mozilla Corporation to take over Asa Dotzler’s role as rabid troll and Opera basher.

    Mr. Dotzler is stepping down due to drug abuse 😦

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
