Home > Marketing > Opera's homepage gets a splash makeover

Opera's homepage gets a splash makeover

September 19, 2006

Opera today made an update to its homepage (www.opera.com). The new homepage puts more emphasis on the Opera browser, while omitting the other corporate information that existed on the previous one.

I like the new clean interface, it’s small, not much to read, and gets the point across quickly. The headings clearly point out the other Opera browsers besides for the desktop one. There’s also a link in the center of the page that brings you to the classic (old) Opera homepage.

One thing that could be a bit confusing to non-techie users and to those who haven’t heard much about Opera is that the page doesn’t highlight the Opera browser for the desktop like it does with the browser for mobile and devices. I don’t think the picture of the laptop computer necessarily gives it away.

Opera also added a new landing page for the Opera mobile browsers. It too is clear and easy to read, though I haven’t seen any link to it anywhere on Opera’s site.

The landing page for the ‘Opera for Devices‘ section hasn’t been update as of now, but I hope they don’t forget about that. With the recent announcement of the Opera browser on the Nintendo Wii and DS, Opera can get lots of PR mileage out of this hype.

All in all, I think these changes should help somewhat with more downloads of the Opera browser, not just for the desktop, but for the mobile, such as Opera Mini, too.

Categories: Marketing
  1. September 19, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    I don’t like the way the quick download link picks a mirror randomly. I’d like it to geolocate my IP and pick the geographically closest mirror.

  2. September 19, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Jere, the average user doesn’t know or even care about the mirror they use to download Opera. You could still go to the classic homepage, and select a mirror of your choice.

  3. scipio
    September 19, 2006 at 1:41 pm

    I get the Desktop page in Dutch! Is that something new, too?

  4. Xtor
    September 19, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    I like it

  5. September 19, 2006 at 2:32 pm

    Wow. I think this is the first good use of a splash page I’ve seen in… well, ever. It’s both light and functional — and splash pages rarely manage either!

  6. Tomek
    September 19, 2006 at 2:36 pm

    I like it more than previous one.

  7. kL
    September 19, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    LOL. It closely resembles getfirefox.com. The layout is similar. Download button has same color. The earlier version of getfirefox even had LCD monitor in place where Opera’s home page has laptop.

    I can see lots of bashing coming from Fx community 🙂

  8. OperaUser
    September 19, 2006 at 3:10 pm

    I don’t know, KL, it looks and feels pretty different to me.

  9. September 19, 2006 at 3:12 pm

    I agree with OperaUser, the getfirefox site is totally different.

  10. September 19, 2006 at 3:35 pm

    Hmm. let’s see.

    Both pages are split horizontally into two main sections. The top section is light blue with a circular design element in the background. The product name appears to the left, in a warm color (red/orange), with the latest version number in black/gray. A brief paragraph and a green download button appear below, with images of the product to the right. The lower section is desaturated, light gray/white.

    Aside from that…

    The lower section of the new Opera splash page just has a pair of ads for their other two main products. The lower section of the Firefox page has a long promotional text section, a couple of awards, and highlights some of the key features they have over IE (well, for the next few months, anyway).

    The Firefox page also has the full header/footer for the Mozilla site, including navigation menus. The Opera splash page is just the splash.

  11. September 19, 2006 at 3:42 pm

    I noticed it some hours ago and I like it very much!

    @scipio
    I don’t know for Dutch, but that page was available for Italian since Opera 9 came out 🙂

  12. joeShmaz
    September 19, 2006 at 3:50 pm

    A big Mazel Tov to Daniel on his recent engagement!

  13. September 19, 2006 at 3:56 pm

    joeShmaz, thanks. How did you find out? Were there any leaks? 😉

  14. September 19, 2006 at 5:59 pm

    Last our night, with my friends on opera.irc#japanese, we found the new splash page and tried to reload to get the person each prefer, for several times.
    Monica, Candy, Ellen or others 😦 We love it, thanks Daniel!

  15. Ryan
    September 19, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    Ahh, so now I see why Daniel hasn’t been posting very much lately. 😛

    Anyway, I think that the splash page is pretty nice, but I agree that there needs to be a better deliniation to the user between the Desktop version and the other versions of Opera.

    I probably wouldn’t even be able to tell what the heck I might be downloading from the start!

  16. Ryan
    September 19, 2006 at 10:04 pm

    Eep. I was using IE7 to post that. Damn ActiveX chat support services and IE7 memory hog.

  17. September 20, 2006 at 6:29 am

    Caught bluehanded there Ryan 😉

  18. September 20, 2006 at 10:53 am

    I’ll have to say, I really like the new page, although some complaints above about the site appearing very similar to the ff page seem to be very true. I don’t mind tho. They have enough differences and one focuses on a computer browser while the other focuses on all platforms for its browser. Very cool and lite weight design.

    ***********
    11/10 stars from me!

  19. September 25, 2006 at 1:14 pm

    Dani,
    still speaking about average users, it is nevertheless favorable to use the geographically closest mirror available. When downloading from a very remote server, you can seldom achieve the full speed your connection would allow.

  20. September 25, 2006 at 8:41 pm

    I wanted to use the Opera 9.0.2 browser, and their mail system. It had a number of bugs, the one that killed it for me was that I was unable to educate the filters to accept emails I get from various web sites. Several attempts to get the system running properly were thwarted by a seemingly uninterested 3rd party who is supposed to give support for Opera mail issues. They took too long to get in touch, and then gave me instructions that were well beyond my capabilities. If I knew what they were saying, I could probably have fixed the problem myself. I finally gave up and dumped the Opera browser….too bad, I really liked it.

  21. Hmm
    September 26, 2006 at 1:54 pm

    Uh… “OK”.

    🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
