Home > Marketing, Opera Community > Join the online Opera social groups: Facebook, MySpace

Join the online Opera social groups: Facebook, MySpace

August 29, 2006

With the start of the fall semester just around the corner (here in the US) Opera is gearing up for an awareness campaign of the Opera browser aimed at college and university campuses, particularly for those in the US.

Local Opera User Groups are being formed in various college and university campuses around the country. In some of these group meetups Opera will provide free food and drinks for social events. These locally run school groups will help organize Opera events at their prospective campuses to bring more awareness for the Opera browser.

Just the other day I came across an Opera browser group on Facebook, the popular social site for students. Facebook, by the way, recommends using the Opera browser. Why don’t you join this global Opera group? It’s your chance to tell your college peers about your passion for the Opera browser. Share the love. 🙂

If you’re into MySpace, there’s a group for you too. The Operatastic group on MySpace started not long ago, and has more than a couple hundred members so far.

The only way Opera will increase its market share is if we, as users of the Opera browser, share the word. Opera doesn’t do much advertising; it’s relying on us to share it with our family, friends, co-workers, blogs, forums, chat, etc.

Be part of the Opera community!

Categories: Marketing, Opera Community
  1. Opera user
    August 29, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    Facebook, by the way, recommends using the Opera browser.

    I only use opera and when visiting facebook this message welcomes me:

    You are using an incompatible web browser.

    Sorry, we’re not cool enough to support your browser. Please keep it real with one of the following browsers:
    Firefox
    Opera

  2. August 29, 2006 at 2:25 pm

    Orkut has some Opera communities, even a Brazilian Opera one. 🙂 In Brazil, almost everybody has an Orkut profile and almost nobody knows about Facebook or MySpace.

  3. August 29, 2006 at 2:33 pm

    Hey Opera user,
    I’m using Opera 9.01 as you can tell by the title of my post, and on WinXP. Everything works great for me on facebook.com. It might be a problem just you are experiencing. This shouldn’t matter, as they all work for me anyways, but are you masking or identifying as anything other than Opera for facebook? Maybe trying uninstalling Opera and then reinstalling.

    Anyway, Go Opera. I suggested they do this a long long time again, lol. Glad to see it finally fire up and take off. Also, thanks to facebook for making people aware that Opera is a good choice as well. 😉

  4. August 29, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    Opera User, it works fine here. Are you sure you didn’t click on the link to the incomatible browser page? I did link to it in the post.

  5. August 29, 2006 at 2:38 pm

    ThiagoHP, do you have any links to the Orkut Opera group?

  6. August 29, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    LOL, I wondered why the number of people in my group jumped to 36 today! Thanks for the plug! I gave you an officer title, too, Daniel. 😛 (If you want to change it, let me know.) I’ll be joining the MySpace group shortly. (I hate MySpace though.)

    — Charlie

  7. August 29, 2006 at 7:24 pm

    I don’t like those social networking sites. I’ll just stick with the official Opera Community. 😀

  8. August 29, 2006 at 7:39 pm
  9. August 30, 2006 at 2:19 am

    I’ve joined the Opera group on Facebook.

  10. olekasper
    August 30, 2006 at 5:23 am

    Let’s not forget last.fm: http://www.last.fm/group/Opera

  11. August 30, 2006 at 9:04 am

    Tamil, I’d love to check out the Orkut Opera group, but I need an invite. Do you have one? Send me an email daniel@operawatch.com

    -Thanks

  12. August 30, 2006 at 9:27 am

    BAMAToNE, you’re welcome. Keep up the good work in spreading Opera!

  13. August 30, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    I get the “Incompatible Browser” message at http://www.facebook.com/browser.php as well… is it supposed to be browser sniffing or is it just an information page that’s been deep linked?

    Still, it gave me a laugh 🙂

  14. GiovanniJones
    August 30, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    Like Ben and others, I also got a chuckle from the ‘Incompatible Browser’ message. I guess I was TOO cool, since I use only the Opera browser. Just for grins, I edited my Site Preferences to identify as Firefox. Lo and Behold, I get the login screen! How COOL is that?

    Not quite ready for prime time.

  15. August 31, 2006 at 8:35 am

    Daniel Goldman, check your mailbox for orkut invitation.

  16. August 31, 2006 at 9:07 am

    Tamil, thanks for the invite. I joined the Orkut Opera group.

  17. August 31, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    I think some folks are getting confused. If you want to check out the Facebook group, go here:
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2205031654

    What Daniel has pointed out is that if and when a visitor tries to visit Facebook using an outdated browser, they get redirected to browser.php and told to upgrade. Opera is on the list of browsers that Facebook supports. Clicking on the browser.php link above simply brings you to the “incompatible browser” page. It isn’t telling you that your browser is not supported.

  18. nixon
    September 25, 2006 at 1:31 am

    to anyone really, i downloaded mozilla and opera so taht i could get on facebook, however it still wont work. it just keeps bringing me to that dumb browser site. anywho, if anyone knows how to change the site preferences or how to fix this problem, i would really be greatfull. thanks.

  19. monkey
    November 29, 2006 at 11:03 pm

    hey GiovanniJones,
    what do you mean you changed your site preferences?
    can you tell me how?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
