Home > Compatibility > Opera visits Microsoft in preparation for Windows Vista

Opera visits Microsoft in preparation for Windows Vista

August 18, 2006

A group from Opera Software visited Microsoft this week to prepare future versions of the Opera browser for Windows Vista.

The Windows version of Opera makes use of some of the underlying components of the Windows platform. Windows Vista, Microsoft’s new OS, includes many changes to Windows, which may require some changes on Opera’s part.

Opera’s Chief Web Opener, David Storey, was among those who visited Microsoft this week, which leads me to think that Microsoft’s websites was also on the agenda. Many of Microsoft’s new “Live” websites (including the new Hotmail) don’t work in the Opera browser.

Hang out with the Opera guys
If you’d like to meet the group from Opera, they’ll be at the Seattle Opera User Group meeting tonight. More details here.

Categories: Compatibility
  1. Mag-X
    August 18, 2006 at 2:32 am

    It’s been working great for me. I’ve had Vista Beta 2 installed for about two months now, and it’s only crashed on me once. (Well, it’s crashed on me a few times more, but I was overclocking 😉 )

    Opera hasn’t crashed any more or less than I noticed on XP, or XP 64-bit.

  2. August 18, 2006 at 11:29 am

    Cool. Would love to see more integration between Opera and Windows.

  3. August 19, 2006 at 3:05 am

    I’d love to finally see live.com stuff work in opera. I still haven’t gotten live search nor mail…. and I must say I’m very impressed with the recent offerings from microsoft… I just wish I didn’t have to get out of my favorite browser to use them 🙂

  4. August 19, 2006 at 5:44 am

    Have they meet with the IE team?

  5. Olli
    August 19, 2006 at 2:59 pm

    Yupp for lunch 🙂

  6. Ryan
    August 19, 2006 at 4:35 pm

    Opera 9.02? o.O

  7. August 20, 2006 at 8:45 am

    Opera 9.02? o.O – Maybe someone from Opera ASA 😀 I tried to change my Opera version number manually for 3 hours without any result =D

  8. August 20, 2006 at 8:47 am

    Olli = http://my.opera.com/olli/blog/… He is one of those who visited Microsoft 😉

  9. Josh Ben-Levy
    August 20, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    Microsoft should license the Opera engine for IE.

  10. August 22, 2006 at 7:20 am

    lol… please not… never…..

  11. kftgr
    August 22, 2006 at 3:47 pm

    why not? one can always dream of content created for an opened web

  12. Moshe Katzmann
    August 23, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    too much IE6 for long times to come

  13. Kristofer Baxter
    August 24, 2006 at 3:59 pm

    This is great news… Microsoft is catering to the developers more (even the ones that compete with their products)

  14. xagggg
    August 28, 2006 at 10:53 am

    ))))

  15. Dark-Dx
    October 15, 2006 at 5:11 pm

    Yes! Live stuff on opera =P Now I can forget about IE :p

    I reccomend OPERA THE BEST!

  16. just_juice
    January 7, 2007 at 8:02 am

    i’m using opera on Windows Vista Ultimate Final.. and every time i start Opera, the Aero egine shuts down. i’m waiting forward for an update to opera.. or windows.. that will solve this solve this problem.

  17. Steve
    February 6, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    I installed Windows Vista Ultimate, and Opera will not open; I keep getting a cryptic window that says, “Error Initializing Opera” with an OK button. I updated Opera to 9.10, with same results.
    Anyone have any suggestions?

  18. February 6, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Steve,

    I havn’t tried Opera on Vista yet, so I think the best place for you to get help is in the Opera Forums.

  19. March 29, 2007 at 3:44 am

    Opera crushed 3 times with Vista I had 1 month. It has never heppened with XP before. I had to uninstall Opera. Now, I am waiting for version for Vista (wich personally is…). I love Opera.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
