Home > Opera Mobile > Why no Opera Browser for the Palm OS?

Why no Opera Browser for the Palm OS?

May 28, 2006

The Opera Mobile browser provides support for a wide variety of devices and operating systems. However, one noticeable absent operating system is Palm OS, including the very popular Treo series.

So why hasn’t Opera created a mobile browser for the Palm OS?

A while ago I spoke with an Opera spokesperson, who told me it’s due to the lack of interest by the makers of the Palm. “Opera Software continuously considers new platforms based on market demand. There are no specific reasons why we shouldn’t be able to port to Palm OS if there was sufficient demand – typically from a device vendor”.

I saw in the forums posted this past week a more detailed explanation by Opera’s Rijk van Geijtenbeek.

“Porting Opera to most of those operating systems has been sponsored by phone manufacturers and companies like IBM. Older Palms didn’t have enough capabilities to port Opera in a meaningful way. I don’t know if that would be different for recent versions, but even then it seems the future of the Palm OS is uncertain. But if Palm had wanted this, they could of course have talked to Opera.”

Of course Palm users can still use Opera Mini as their browser, however, it’s doesn’t have the full Opera Mobile browser functionality.

Are you a Palm user? What do you think? Is Opera Mini good enough for you? Or are you waiting for Opera to port the browser to the Palm OS too?

Categories: Opera Mobile
  1. May 28, 2006 at 12:25 pm

    I would be glad to use an Opera Browser on my Palm TX instead of the very poor Blazer that comes pre-installed on the Palm TX !

  2. May 28, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    Knowing that you point out the browser of the commenters, I should have used Opera to comment 😉

  3. May 28, 2006 at 6:36 pm

    I’d like to have it for Microsoft UMPC (Origami)

  4. May 28, 2006 at 7:32 pm

    Markus, you can post using any browser 🙂

  5. May 28, 2006 at 11:23 pm

    I’m almost decided to buy a palm TX, and really hope that it could be an Opera version for Palm out there… anyways I will use Opera Mini surely.

  6. Carlos Loya
    May 29, 2006 at 1:15 am

    i have a Treo & mainly use Xiino. i’ve tried a version of Opera Mini but it didn’t cut it. loved the speed but the features were too simple.
    i’d LOVE it if the Opera Mobile browser existed for my Treo

  7. May 29, 2006 at 1:54 am

    I have a Treo 650 and find Opera Mini is great – mostly due to the proxy cutting down the data transferred, which is extremely expensive and slow for me! That is reason enough for me to prefer Opera Mini over Opera Mobile, even if Opera Mobile was available.

    Opera Mini’s biggest problem on the Palm is the lack of stability in the JVM. Not to mention the huge resources required by the JVM.

    What I feel would serve the Palm platform best would be a native implementation of Mini. That would surely be a much more modest and achievable target than a port of the full Mobile browser. It would also solve the problem of applets not being able to directly download files.

  8. Rajat
    May 29, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Hey why do the people at Opera care whether Palm is interested or not??? Is this the reason of not getting opera on PALM… YIKES! VOMIT.

    I don’t think that makers of Palm have approached to every developer of the Palm software. That’s really wired. Yeah, i know Opera is class above from most of other softwares, but so is Agendus and many more…

    In fact, Operians can take it as good business opportunity as Treo fanbase is very strong and treonauts love to have powerful softwares!

    WELL… who am i to teach opera… there must be significant reason for their behaving in such a way… be it anything BUT ALL OF THIS is going over my head. HELL, why am i thinking so much… do whatever… i can live with blazer

  9. Bongo Bongo
    May 30, 2006 at 9:18 am

    Porting stuff takes time you know. And money. Opera isn’t a charity after all.

    If Palm OS is a tiny market for a commercial browser and not viable for Opera, then there’s nothing Opera can do to change that.

  10. Dallas Hinton
    May 30, 2006 at 1:28 pm

    I’d be quite willing to pay a reasonable amount to be able to use Opera on my Palm TX — I’m using mini now, but it’s not stable (due to the JVM, I believe). The difference in the speed of Opera over Blazer is quite remarkable!

    Cheers, Dallas

  11. Joey A. Tyson
    May 30, 2006 at 3:53 pm

    I’ve begged for Opera on Palm for quite some time now, but finally bought Xiino just a few weeks ago after trying Opera Mini with the IBM JVM. I’m using a Kyocera 7135 with PalmOS 4.1, and Mini was just too clunky and slow (in response times and boot-up, not browsing) to justify daily use. If Opera ported their browser to PalmOS 4.x, I’d be one of the first customers, but I don’t foresee that happening. In the mean time, Xiino (along with a few alternate browsers) does what I need.

  12. June 1, 2006 at 5:36 am

    I am sure PalmOS is full of its quirks, but I have using it around 8 years now and prefer it over PocketPC for it simplicity, speed and the wealth of applications. I have also been using Opera exclusively since v3 days. There really are a lot of us Palm users out there, but there is nothing comparable to Opera for us, which is a shame. I currently use a Treo 650, and will certainly purchase Opera should it become available.

  13. Madcap
    June 2, 2006 at 10:29 pm

    Then we need to inform/pressure/encourage them to port it….
    anyone care to find the address to email a request or 2…..
    no one send more than 3 in a month or they will surely ignore us…..

  14. Joey A. Tyson
    June 10, 2006 at 10:50 am

    It takes more than pressure, madcap. There are already 2,149 signatures on the Opera for PalmOS petition at PetitionSpot. No telling how many have requested it on the Opera forums.

  15. Jaman
    June 20, 2006 at 5:10 pm

    I’d buy it in a heartbeat. I didn’t buy Xiino because it wasn’t stable either. I use mini but the JVM crashes my treo 650.

    But if they could make the JVM stable I’d buy it from IBM too.

  16. T. Jensen
    December 22, 2006 at 5:29 pm

    Have tried Opera mini latest build for the Treo 650. Crashes with every single web page I tried, even with 8Mb memory allowed. If it is Opera or Java that is not stable is not sure. It looks good, feels good, but does not cut it.

    So the alternatives are – use a slow browser or a browser (X..) that looks crappy but at least works.

    Would love to see O on my phone, actually working. But so far, it’s no good.

  1. July 30, 2006 at 10:30 pm
  2. February 16, 2007 at 2:57 pm
Comments are closed.
