Home > Uncategorized > Welcome to the new Opera Watch

Welcome to the new Opera Watch

April 30, 2006

I am proud to unveil the new home for Opera Watch.

With the new design and layout, you will find our content more readable and structured. There are numerous new changes that have been made with the new site, some more apparent than others. As with any change, it takes time to get used to a new look and feel.

This has been a big step, and there is more to come. In the coming weeks and months I hope to roll out more features on Opera Watch. Just to give you a sneak. Opera Watch will conduct a monthly interview with Opera executives and officials, where our readers will have a chance to submit the questions.

Starting soon, I will have other writers and columnist join me to provide a more complete coverage of the latest buzz and news on the Opera browser.

Here at Opera Watch we will continue to strive in bring you the best and most comprehensive coverage on the Opera browser. More than 20,000 readers read our articles on the old site each month.

Opera Watch was first to break several Opera stories over the past year and has been featured in the press on countless occasions including The Inquirer, CBS Market Watch, Red Herring Magazine, InternetNews.com, Slashdot, Investors Business Daily, Neowin, and more.

I’d be lying if I said that I’m not proud of Opera Watch’s success. There is no better reward for me when I see people write comments and link to Opera Watch in their own blogs — I read every comment and generally visit the blogs/sites that link to Opera Watch. Thanks to everyone who has commented on Opera Watch.

There are still some bugs to squash and some changes to be made; your feedback is very important. (If there are any WordPress users out there, I still can’t figure out how to properly word wrap the posts).

Over the past 4-5 months I’ve been working nights and weekend on this new site. And while I did put in a lot of work myself, it couldn’t have been done without the advice and help from a friend who wanted to remain anonymous. His input on style and layout has been immense. Thanks EC.

Also deserving credit is Dhaivat Maharaja, who worked on the graphics for the site.

Note: If you got this post with your RSS or email subscription, there is no need to update your subscription.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. SN
    April 30, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    May I be the first to congratulate you.

  2. Petter Nilsen
    April 30, 2006 at 5:05 pm

    Congrats on the new site, it looks nice. It doesn’t validate with w3c, though 🙂

  3. April 30, 2006 at 5:13 pm

    congrats… keep up the good work!

    i dont like the new design though 😉

  4. April 30, 2006 at 5:20 pm

    Petter, it’s a work in progress.

  5. April 30, 2006 at 5:43 pm

    congrats!!!

  6. Arnt
    April 30, 2006 at 6:30 pm

    Congratulation!
    Look promising.

  7. April 30, 2006 at 8:47 pm

    Great look. Congrats on the move, I appreciate all the hard work at Opera watch.

  8. EC
    April 30, 2006 at 9:13 pm

    Ignore the “using …” – Congratulations on the new site launch!!!

    Waiting for more in the future….

  9. Aaron
    April 30, 2006 at 9:26 pm

    Love the new design, very professional.

  10. April 30, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    It looks much better than the old site, great work and thanks for all the news!

  11. April 30, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    As always Opera Watch is a great site.
    Plus, I just wanted to boost the Linux numbers 😛

  12. April 30, 2006 at 10:13 pm

    Wow! Good lookin’! Congrats!
    I like “using” sing… 😀
    As for IRC poll – I miss “I just don’t use any IRC”… But I will try – promise! 😉

  13. May 1, 2006 at 12:05 am

    Great design/ very readable/ great colours and love the favicon.

    Keep it up.

  14. May 1, 2006 at 1:40 am

    The interface certainly looks nice. But there is a small blank space above the header. If you remove that it will probably look better.

  15. May 1, 2006 at 1:45 am

    Congratulations, Daniel, for the new OperaWatch.
    This comment’s live preview is new to me!

  16. May 1, 2006 at 2:30 am

    Last design on blogspot.com was very nice. This new design looks as bad joke for me.

    But content is perferct.

  17. lakeview
    May 1, 2006 at 2:42 am

    Congrtulations!

    Operawatch has been giving me many news about opera, which are very interesting to a opera fan. Thanks for hard working.

    Seems to me the header of the site is too dark.

  18. Ankur
    May 1, 2006 at 2:53 am

    Lovely
    🙂

  19. breun
    May 1, 2006 at 3:03 am

    Nice work, Daniel.

  20. May 1, 2006 at 3:15 am

    Nice job with new website Daniel 😉

  21. pholie
    May 1, 2006 at 4:36 am

    Nice looking.
    Btw. the browsers and OS icons here in comments are good idea 🙂

  22. May 1, 2006 at 4:40 am

    Very good. I like the site. Much better than the previous.

  23. May 1, 2006 at 4:54 am

    Congratulation!
    Your new site looks quite good.
    Keep feeding us with Opera news 🙂

  24. kL
    May 1, 2006 at 7:53 am

    About the design: Can you make Opera version + OS less standing out? Icon for OS should be alone, you don’t need word Opera next to icon (we’ll all know! :D) and both these could be floated right.

  25. May 1, 2006 at 8:01 am

    whooo! nice new site!
    And I really like how the comments note the browser and OS used 😀
    How do you do it~~~ (I use wordpress too)

  26. May 1, 2006 at 8:27 am

    Thanks all for the kind words.

    I still have many touch-ups to do, so perhaps we can call this a beta site.

  27. May 1, 2006 at 8:39 am

    Congrats! I like the new design!

  28. May 1, 2006 at 3:21 pm

    Congrats on the site!

    As for WordPress and word wrap… it looks OK, at least on this post. what is it that you’re having trouble with? At least with the default setup, it will convert returns to line breaks, double-returns to paragraphs, and if you just type without hitting enter, it’ll wrap it normally. (Assuming you’re using the plain posting interface, anyway.)

    If you want to justify the text, that’s done in the CSS file for the theme you’re using. Look for a .post {...} section and add text-align: justify; line between the curly braces. You could do th same thing for comments by editing the .comments {...} section.

  29. May 1, 2006 at 3:30 pm

    Kelson, the posts that are up now are all fine. However, during my tests, I have encountered this problem, where the line overflows and creates a long horizontal scrollbar.

    It appears to me that wordpress thinks the whole line is one word, with no spaces. If I double click on a word in the editor, it’s supposed to select only that word. However, if I click on a word in the long line, many words get selected.

  30. May 1, 2006 at 4:09 pm

    Completely off-topic… I can’t believe there are only four of us using Opera 8.54! I didn’t think so many people would hop on to a beta!

  31. May 1, 2006 at 6:16 pm

    Looks good Daniel!

  32. May 1, 2006 at 7:04 pm

    Great work, Daniel! Thanks for a great Opera blog to get the latest on a great browser and the team developing it…

    (Nice layout/graphics by EC and Dhalvat, as well.)

    Wow, cool live comment preview and auto-gen browser/OS info, too…

  33. May 1, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    Daniel: is that on the WYSIWYG editor, or the plain-text editor? I know the plain-text editor has some problems, at least in Firefox, where the text area keeps snapping back to th left edge when I scroll it to view long URLs, but I’ve found the WYSYWIG editor annoying enough that I disabled it pretty quickly.

    Or was it on the actual post/preview page?

  34. May 1, 2006 at 8:49 pm

    Kelson, it happened with the WYSIWYG editor. The problem wasn’t with long urls, it was just with plain words. Every so often, wordpress would recognize a bunch of words in a sentance as one word without any spaces.

  35. May 2, 2006 at 1:11 am

    Looks like it’s a bug in either TinyMCE (the editor that WordPress uses for WYSIWYG posting) or Opera 9’s support for designMode. I was able to reproduce the problem at TinyMCE’s example page. It looks like either TinyMCE or designMode is set so that if you type two spaces in a row, the second one is done as   (a non-breaking space) instead of a plain space. This would be so that you can do things like insert two spaces after a period and get the proper spacing.

    As near as I can tell, what’s happening is that the Opera/TinyMCE combination is instead using a   any time there are two “spaces” in a row—and it’s counting line breaks. So if you start typing at the end of the text area, it’s fine, but if you go back and start typing at the end of a line, all the spaces get inserted incorrectly. There’s only one flaw in this theory, and that’s the fact that if I enable the WYSIWYG editor on my own site, the bug doesn’t follow this pattern.

    I know support for Opera in TinyMCE is new, since it relies on designMode, which is new in Opera 9. So I don’t know whether it’s a flaw in Opera’s implementation of designMode, or a flaw in the way TinyMCE interacts with Opera.

    I did look at the JavaScript code for the version of TinyMCE that’s included in WordPress, and I found what looks like a disabled workaround for a similar problem in Gecko on line 967 of /wp-includes/js/tinymce/tiny_mce.js — but re-enabling it and setting it to check isOpera instead of isGecko didn’t have any effect on the problem.

    (Personally, I disabled the WYSIWYG editor shortly after upgrading to WordPress 2.0 because I didn’t like the code it generated. That, and I’m so used to HTML that typing the code was faster than trying to use the toolbar.)

  36. May 2, 2006 at 2:51 am

    Am I late again?

  37. jamie
    May 2, 2006 at 5:06 am

    nice one, the new design looks great 🙂

  38. May 2, 2006 at 8:59 am

    Kelson, Thanks for looking into the problem. I’ll take a look at the nbsp issue.

    Also, I’m not sure it was an Opera problem. I think I also had it with IE.

  39. May 2, 2006 at 9:33 am

    Nice new look. Keep it up. 🙂

  40. mollusca
    May 3, 2006 at 2:44 am

    Awesome! How about more frequent posts 😉

  41. Tzach
    May 3, 2006 at 4:29 pm

    How come there are no IE explorer users commentators?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
