Home > Desktop > Opera 9 beta 1 released

Opera 9 beta 1 released

April 21, 2006

Opera on Thursday released its first beta version of Opera 9.

The beta version includes many new features to the browser, including Widget, BitTorrent, Content Blocking (aka ad blocking), the ability to customize the integrated search engine field, Tab Thumbnail preview, site-specific preferences, and more. A complete list of changes for this release is available here.

Download Opera 9

P.S. I’m on a (mini) vacation now; I hope to write a more detailed review of Opera 9 later.

Categories: Desktop
  1. SN
    April 21, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Man your blog post took too much time.
    If you want to take my trollish sounding advice, Use Firefox (with Performancing).
    And then you can switch back to Opera

  2. Anonymous
    April 22, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    Firefox may be open source but there is so much tweaking available in Opera that doesn’t even exist in Firefox. In firefox you’d have to get like 30 extensions before you get the refined experience of Opera. And bummer, everytime you upgrade Firefox your extensions aren’t compatible. As for Web standards, I’ve tested Bon Echo (Firefox 2) and it still is not showing properly: Acid2 Browser test
    Opera does!

  3. April 22, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    Love the tab-hover-thumbnail view of the website.. Very handy..
    I’ve found a small bug which affects my site though 😦
    I’ve just spent four days on a new website that worked 100% with Opera 8.54 / FireFox and [shudder] IE. But, Opera 9 beta has troubles with self-resizing iframes by the looks. I know it’s beta, but am I wrong to expect things that worked in the previous version to keep working in something *new*?
    What happens is that the SR iframe will not shrink back when content is smaller than previously viewed page. Kind’a defeats the purpose. :`(

  4. Anonymous
    April 22, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    you comment on acid2, yet Opera has difficulty in “real world” tests, like Google Calender.Passing the Acid2 test means nothing to the common user.

  5. SN
    April 23, 2006 at 8:23 am

    Fools. I meant only for blogging.
    Firefox 2 can’t pass Acid2 because it is the same engine as 1.5
    Firefox 3 builds (that aren’t publically available) have passed. They’re even mentioned at Opera fan sites.
    I use Opera as my secondary browser, it was primary (for a few days), but your attitude brought me back to firefox

  6. April 23, 2006 at 11:58 am

    Sairam, as I mentioned in the post above, I was on vacation for a few days, so it took a bit more time to post. 🙂

  7. April 23, 2006 at 12:22 pm

    Anyone who switches their primary browser because of someone else’s attitude (especially another user) really needs to chill. Use the browser you like the best? If that’s Opera, then bravo. If it’s Firefox or IE, shrug, that’s fine with me.

    Personally, I’m glad I don’t have 20 or 30 extensions break everytime I upgrade Opera. And I like the UI better.

    As for Google Calendar, Google’s coding nightmare is the issue, not Opera. (Though I would very much like to see all of Google’s services work perfectly.)

  8. Anonymous
    April 23, 2006 at 2:41 pm

    30 boxes works with 0pera
    Kiko works with Opera

    If two smaller companies can make their calendar work with Opera when it is not even on there supported browsers list why can’t Google?

  9. Anonymous
    April 23, 2006 at 2:43 pm

    30 boxes works with 0pera
    Kiko works with Opera

    If two smaller companies can make their calendar work with Opera when it is not even on there supported browsers list why can’t Google?

  10. SN
    April 23, 2006 at 3:39 pm

    Google apparently isn’t the only one doing this. Yahoo and Microsoft are also doing this and cough up messages in a way trying to say that Opera is the wrong browser.
    @Charlie. I only use 9 extensions (mainly for research purposes like Clipmarks, Stumble Upon). I agree about the Google comment. I guess Google’s “DO NO EVIL” isn’t in effect anymore in 2006.
    @Daniel. Ok.

  11. Sam
    April 23, 2006 at 8:57 pm

    Dan-

    News about O9 is exciting…perticularly the BitTorrent item.

    I’ve fallen for Opera. You should know.

    http://wwwPexNex.com

  12. Sam
    April 23, 2006 at 8:59 pm

    Dan-

    News about Op.9 is exciting…perticularly the BitTorrent item.

    I’ve fallen for Opera. You should know.

    http://wwwPexNex.com

  13. EC
    April 24, 2006 at 10:39 am

    Google’s GMail doesn’t work in Opera 9 Beta so well, either. And that is after a lot of effort to try to make it work, which it now does, but just doesn’ty look so nice. Some of the images don’t reapeat properly and what not. It’s just an annoyance to use Opera in certain instances, especially such critical ones such as web based email.
    I would like to see Opera pull ahead of its competition, but that is just not going to happen until they overcame the compatibility issues.

    Good luck to you, Opera!

  14. April 24, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    There is a javascript problem in this new beta, the previous beta rendered this page perfectly:

    http://tv.yahoo.com/grid/?

    The new one totally screws it up.

    Also is there a way to have the highlighted text search function that opens from the right click context menu open in a new tab while having the links opened from bookmarks or other links open in the same tab that you’re focused on?

  15. April 24, 2006 at 3:40 pm

    Kizzzmet,

    Confirmed, the Yahoo TV page is messed up. I hope this is fixed soon; I use tv.yahoo.com all the time.

  16. April 24, 2006 at 3:44 pm

    Me too Daniel I use it all the time. And if it’s screwing up on that page I dont know how many pages it’s screwing up on.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
