Home > Acid > KDE's Konqueror browser passes Acid2 test; Opera standard?

KDE's Konqueror browser passes Acid2 test; Opera standard?

March 28, 2006

After saying that they passed the Acid2 test in their internal builds, KDE released a new public version of the Konqueror browser, which passes the Acid2 test.

Not only did they pass the Acid2 test, which is a milestone, but they did it according to Opera’s standards. Or at least so says their changelog.

From the KDE 3.5.2 changelog:

“Implement CSS2.1 quirk about behavior of overflow and root and body. Now we pass Acid2 according to Opera’s standard, but in an actual release version.”

Hmm…


Via Saito

Categories: Acid
  1. March 28, 2006 at 10:47 pm

    I think they mean without showing the scrollbar. In the last version, the scrollbar showed when it shouldn’t.

  2. March 29, 2006 at 6:43 am

    A Pedantic attack from the Konq developers asking why Opera made a deal about a purely cosmetic glitch? — oh hang on.. acid3 is a cosmetic thing πŸ˜‰

    (Yeah i’m a “If your going to do it, do it right” person)

  3. March 29, 2006 at 12:26 pm

    Ah, because Opera making a big deal out of how Konqueror and iCab don’t really pass the test (even though hiding the scrollbar isn’t mentioned in the test guide, and hardly anyone else seems to have noticed the one missing detail, as everyone focused on the face itself) isn’t pedantic. But Konqueror saying that they now meet the standards on which Opera insists is not only pedantic, it’s actually an attack. Quick, batton down the hatches!

    Give me a few moments, it seems I need to adjust my reality filter.

  4. Anonymous
    March 29, 2006 at 3:48 pm

    Kelson: Saying Opera made a big deal about that is a bit wrong isn’t it? Or maybe you can point to a public post made by Opera where they states this?

    BTW Feel free to view the source of the test:

    /* page setup */
    html { font: 12px sans-serif; margin: 0; padding: 0; overflow: hidden; /* hides scrollbars on viewport, see 11.1.1:3 */ background: white; color: red; }

  5. Anonymous
    March 29, 2006 at 4:00 pm

    For what it’s worth, Opera never claimed that Konqueror did not pass. I did. I made the claim on my own personal site.

    I am not a spokesperson for Opera, and my site contains my own opinions, which may or may not reflect those of my employer.

    Referring to it as “Opera’s standard” is not really accurate, since it is a part of the test, not what Opera has said (although yes, they do now render it to the same standard as Opera does – correctly, in other words). An unfortunate choice of words perhaps.

    That point aside, this is good news for the Web and Web developers, and congratulations of course to the Konqueror team. Well done.

    Tarquin

  6. Anonymous
    March 29, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    Argh. The comment form screwed up my use of italic tags – completely changing the meaning of my comment πŸ˜‰

    That first line should be:
    “For what it’s worth, Opera _NEVER_ claimed that Konqueror did not pass. I did. I made the claim on my own personal site.”

  7. March 29, 2006 at 5:06 pm

    Tarquin: Sorry, I guess I lost track of where I’d read the statement.

    But my point to dd32 still stands: I think counting this an “attack” is a bit of an overstatement.

  8. Anonymous
    March 29, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    Indeed. I do not think it was intended to be an attack. Maybe a little friendly jab aimed at me πŸ˜‰

    In general, I know that the vendors and developers of these browsers have a lot of respect for each other, and the achievements of each other.

    This is just an example of how seriously they each take the desire to provide the best standards support they can, and it is obvious that they will try their best to prove it so that people are aware of that commitment.

    Pity the same can’t be said for some of the other browsers (mentioning no names -I will leave it up to you to decide πŸ˜‰ ).

  9. March 29, 2006 at 7:07 pm

    Opera’s standard? Well – Opera do have high standards, so obviously that should be something to strive for… πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
