Home > Uncategorized > Opera working on browser for new Intel Macs

Opera working on browser for new Intel Macs

January 16, 2006

Following Apple’s announcement last week that it will start selling Mac computers that run on the Intel processor chip, Opera is gearing up for the change. Opera will release a version of its browser for the new Intel Macs in a few months, according to spokesman Tor Odland.

About a half a year ago I spoke with one of Opera’s Mac developers on the impending Intel change, who told me that first reaction was that the processor switch would have little impact for Opera’s development. “The possibility to deliver a Universal Binary that can run on both platforms can be taken advantage of by an application with a small footprint like Opera.”

“Opera already delivers the very same desktop version on Intel and PowerPC: The Linux version. This means we have extensive experience with any binary differences (from byte order to performance) between the two platforms”, s/he said.

In addition, Opera’s lead Mac developer pointed out back then that the Unix and Macintosh projects already share some low-level code, and Apple’s switch to Intel processors will mean that Opera will be able to share a few more files and tools.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 17, 2006 at 12:55 am

    cool.

    Glad to see the are on top of it and will have a version out for Intel -based Mac’s.

    P.S. Off the subject, but does anyone know if Opera mini works on the Motorola Razr v3 ?

    Peace

  2. January 17, 2006 at 2:01 am

    I can install it and start it, but I can’t actually connect to anything. From what I can tell, I need to change my cell phone plan (or at least get an add-on to my current plan) in order to get GPRS set up, and I’m not sure I’d use the mobile web enough to justify the extra cost.

    But it does at least run, and I suspect it would work fine if I had the right plan.

  3. January 17, 2006 at 2:02 am

    According to http://help.opera.com/mini/phones/ the Motorola Razr V3 is supported.

    Btw, Opera 9 TP 1 for Mac (released October 20, 2005, see http://snapshot.opera.com/mac/m90p1.html) is a universal binary already 🙂

  4. Pat
    January 17, 2006 at 4:28 am

    I think they missed an opportunity here. the switch to intel is known for some month now, dev-kits are available – they should have put all their energy into a native port and come out with Opera 8.5 for Intel last friday, people would try out opera just because it’s native and then could have liked it. so they will come out at around the same time as Firefox which is scheduled for march. no point in this..

  5. Anonymous
    January 17, 2006 at 11:25 am

    I use opera mini on my Razr v3 (Cingular with data plan) just fine.

    In fact, I love it. I just haven’t figured out how to use this java app as the default browser for this phone.. map the “browser” button to launch the Mini app

  6. January 17, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Pat — that sounds like it would’ve been a great idea!

    Right now I think the only Intel-native browser for Mac (outside of beta) is Safari. Even OmniWeb doesn’t have an Intel or Universal version yet, and they’ve already ported the rest of their apps!

    Hmm, who wants to bet that Camino 1.0 final comes out (with a universal binary) around the same as the Firefox update and Opera 9? March could be a really interesting month for Mac web users!

  7. January 17, 2006 at 8:50 pm

    There was no reason for Opera to develop it earlier, to this day they are only taking orders, you wont even get your intel mac until February.

    Camino will probably release a universal binary @ the same time, if not at least the same week as Firefox. Camino devs usually develop around the mozilla crew and are usually at the same pace.

    *UPDATE*

    Opera installed on my Razr no probblem, I transfered it via Bluetooth and it immiatley asked me if I wanted to install, clicked yes, and wha-lah.

    UNfortunatley I am getting some connection errors, but like the previous poster, it seems to be related to my data plan 😦

  8. KT
    January 18, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    This forum post seems to say that Opera v9.0p1 is already a universal binary…?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
