Home > Marketing > New Year's Opera Ad in Times Square Finalized

New Year's Opera Ad in Times Square Finalized

December 22, 2005

Opera has chosen one lucky Opera user to have his photo displayed on the gigantic ABC SuperSign in New York’s Times Square on New Year’s Eve.

The lucky person: Dan Alexandru (aka dantesoft) from Romania. Read his (interesting) submission here. Dan, you had my vote. For those of you who don’t know Dan yet, he is very active on Opera’s IRC channel (where I usually hang out), always helping people out with Opera support.

His picture will be part of a video tribute to Opera users as part of Opera’s 10th anniversary. Starting on December 26 and climaxing on New Year’s Eve, the video tribute will be on rotation at least nine times a day for a whole week.

Dan (dantesoft) pointed out to me that my picture also made it to the video (see screenshot below).

I don’t know if I will make it to Times Square for New Year’s Eve, if any of you are planning on being there, please contact me. I would love to get some pictures of Times Square with all the crowds and the Opera video in the background.

Watch the video.

Daniel Goldman in Times Square
Me (Daniel Goldman) with other Opera users in an ad in Times Square on New Year’s Eve 2006

Categories: Marketing
  1. Anonymous
    December 22, 2005 at 3:13 pm

    I don’t get the video ??? Please tell me Opera isn’t planning on paying to post that video.

  2. Anonymous
    December 22, 2005 at 3:50 pm

    Congrats, Dan!

  3. December 22, 2005 at 7:44 pm

    Congrats on getting your face on the video as another of Opera’s “young, hip” users. The company is clearly going after the youth market. 🙂

  4. Anonymous
    December 23, 2005 at 3:11 am

    Love the Ad. I confess, I am the anon who said “lame” when I first read about the idea – I though it will be a waste of money. They could spend less in a better way – though I don’t know how and where.

    Love it now. Stupid me, I was thinking that the Ad will have sound – until I realized you can’t have blaring ads playing at the Times Square.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
