Home > Interviews > Jon von Tetzchner: The Man Behind Opera

Jon von Tetzchner: The Man Behind Opera

September 8, 2005

CNet News is carrying an interview with Opera founder and CEO Jon von Tetzchner about the future of browser development, Opera’s competition with Microsoft, and how he plans to morph the company into more than just the “alternative” to the mainstream.

I’m actually a big fan of his; I think he is a very intelligent person. I’ve listened to (and read) many of his interviews and public speeches — I like the way he thinks.

If you’re reading this Jon, I would love to meet with you in person. If you’re ever in the Washington DC (USA) area, maybe we can get together.

On an aside, I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I’ve noticed a lot more coverage of Opera in the press recently. This is precisely what Opera needs to increase its market share — more publicity (and some other things…).

Categories: Interviews
  1. Anonymous
    September 8, 2005 at 5:27 pm

    “Charles Cooper: What’s likely to change in five years from what we see today in the average browser?

    Von Tetzchner: I think there’s going to be added a lot of features, but there’s going to be more standards and there’s going to be more things happening.”

    Wow. How wonderfully and absurdly vague. I am an Opera and a Firefox fan, I like to root for the underdog, but how about the CEO coming to the interview prepared to answer questions with specific answers? I didn’t find one new piece of information in this article. Did you?

  2. Anonymous
    September 8, 2005 at 6:06 pm

    Do you know what is going to be in future browsers? Can you see into the future? Hmm?

  3. Anonymous
    September 8, 2005 at 9:47 pm

    I thought the interview was OK.
    von Tetzchner can’t give away too much.

    SteveL

    PS Operawatch: ta for the updates/news. Good stuff.

  4. September 9, 2005 at 2:22 am

    I am also a great fan of Jon and Opera.He really is a great man.He has set an example as to how a company should be run.Things like the Trans Atlantic Swim Gag,Chatting with fans on the IRC etc make Opera one of a kind company.

  5. David Lee
    September 11, 2005 at 8:09 am

    Will that affect Opera’s growth potential?

    Von Tetzchner: Well, for 10 years we had 30 to 50 percent growth in revenue from the desktop. I’m hoping we can increase that and we can also increase our market share.

    Might that dispel the rumor of Opera going ad-free to the masses? Anyhow, I will always support Opera, free or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
