Home > Desktop > BitTorrent in Opera not ready for primetime

BitTorrent in Opera not ready for primetime

July 24, 2005

The next stable release of Opera, version 8.02, will not include BitTorrent support.

Earlier this month, Opera became the first to include BitTorrent support in a browser. It was included in a technical preview version of Opera 8.02.

Major enhancements to the browser, especially like support for BitTorrent, often take more time until it can be included in a stable release.

Support for BitTorrent in version 8.02 final was never the intentions of Opera. It will eventually make it to a final stable release at a future time, perhaps for version 8.1.

I do, however, wonder if Opera will release a second technical preview at the same time of the release of version 8.02. After all, the next stable release will contain enhancements to the browser, but without BitTorrent support, leaving not many people to test its support for BitTorrent. I don’t see myself keeping the technical preview of 8.02 rather than its stable version.

Categories: Desktop
  1. Anonymous
    July 24, 2005 at 4:05 am

    Hi,

    I’d like to see another TP short after 8.02 becomes final. I love the idea to have Bitorrent included, but I can understand that they don’t want to rush this feature.

  2. Anonymous
    July 24, 2005 at 11:44 am

    i am teo
    i am very sorry to read this news
    i would like to use a stable version of opera 8.02 with bit torrent
    also because they say bit torrent will be the future of p2p

  3. July 24, 2005 at 1:29 pm

    This makes sense. BitTorrent is a major new feature, so it’s not appropriate for a minor patch release like 8.02. They can either rename 8.02 to 8.10 and release BitTorrent now, or release 8.02 and save BitTorrent for the next major release.

  4. Anonymous
    July 24, 2005 at 7:02 pm

    I love the BT feature, and I will miss it when they release 8.02. I hope they take their time to make BT stable before the next major release.

  5. July 25, 2005 at 4:29 am

    Unless completely necessary, I don’t think I want to give up my bittorrent capabilities in Opera.I’ll try to hold on to this build until Bittorrent is finalized in whatever version they eventually ship it with. Unless of course some major web standards or security fixes (?) are implemented.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
