Home > Desktop > Opera 8.01 final unofficially released

Opera 8.01 final unofficially released

June 3, 2005

Opera has unofficially released Opera 8.01 final on its FTP server for the Windows, Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, and Mac operating systems.

Improvements for Gmail support have been made in this version. It’s not yet clear what other changes were made with the new release. The Acid2 test looks much better now.

This marks the first time a final version of Opera is released for the Mac. Mac users only got their first look at Opera 8, through a preview version, when Opera 8 was released for Windows and Unix/Linux, while the rest of us got the preview/beta versions long before. Opera said more time was needed for testing on the Mac version, thus delaying the final release. I’m sure this is welcome news for Mac users.

Opera plans on making an official announcement of the release next week (week of 6/6/05).

Some mirrors:

ftp://ftp.hu-berlin.de/pub/www/opera/
ftp://ftp.130th.net/pub/mirror/opera/
ftp://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/opera/

Categories: Desktop
  1. June 4, 2005 at 3:10 am

    It still doesn’t load my print stylesheet. Try to print preview my site using Firefox and Opera. You’ll notice the differences.

    P.S. I don’t have access to Safari and Konqueror. It would be nice if someone can try it out too (and tell me what it shows).

  2. Anonymous
    June 4, 2005 at 5:29 am

    Yay … I’ve been waiting. Let Internet world rejoice

  3. June 5, 2005 at 1:55 am

    Minghong, yes I see the problem with the print preview.

    But on a side note, when I open that page in IE, I get a prompt for a file download.

  4. June 6, 2005 at 12:07 am

    I serve the XHTML as “application/xhtml+xml” only. That’s why. Since it is just my personal site, I don’t care if it blocks IE users. 😀

    P.S. In fact, it also blocks Lynx users. But… who’s still using Lynx anyway? 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
