Home > Uncategorized > Opera to have 'Tips' in place of text ads

Opera to have 'Tips' in place of text ads

May 26, 2005

In a move to promote Opera’s features and the Opera community, Opera will be opening their text ads in the Opera browser to run tips and quotes from community members.

So instead of seeing those “annoying” ads, you’ll occasionally see tips on Opera.

Opera is asking for your help. Tell them:

  • Your favorite Opera feature.
  • Why should you promote Opera to your friends?
  • Why does the my.opera community rock?
  • Other things that you think its users will be interested in knowing about Opera.
  • How about promoting Opera Watch in the text ads space 😉

    Categories: Uncategorized
    1. J81
      May 26, 2005 at 3:21 pm

      GREAT IDEA! Make the adbar a tipbar :)))

    2. May 27, 2005 at 12:29 am

      Great. From ad bar to spam bar… X-D

    3. Dan
      May 27, 2005 at 5:17 am

      That’s not so great.
      All this time I was trying to ignore the banners, now I have to peek at them from time to time, expecting pointers on smart browsing. It’s going to be very annoying to find ads for weight loss now…
      I do hope the tips will also be available from the Help menu, or something…

    4. May 27, 2005 at 7:39 am

      Hi,

      I know this is completely unrelated to your post (I am unaffected by the change, as I chose to support Opera and bought a license) but I thought you may be able to help me:
      I just signed up for a blogger account, but am unable to write posts using Opera. I tried posting using IE, and it works fine! Have you had that problem before?

      Thanks!

      Magali

    5. May 27, 2005 at 8:39 am

      Magali,

      You’re right, Opera 8 doesn’t work with Opera. I use Opera 7.5 to post to Blogger.

      Here is what to do in general when you encounter a site that is not supported by Opera, on the menu bar go to Help > Report a site problem.

    1. No trackbacks yet.
    Comments are closed.
