Home > Uncategorized > The Future Browser

The Future Browser

October 28, 2004

When the browser was initially developed, it was for browsing the web. Since then, it has been used also for POP/IMAP mail, RSS, and more. This is all about to change, according to David Weinberger.

David is predicting that Google will create a browser not only for surfing the web, but also for much much more.

It would not be a Web browser. It’d be a world browser. It would find pages on the Web, of course, but it’d also find the ones on my desktop (Google desktop). It would know about my email (Gmail). It would know that my own photos are categorically different from all the other jpgs on the planet (Picasa). It would let me browse the physical earth (Keyhole) and show on a map the documents that talk about any particular place (Keyhole + Google Local). And it wouldn’t be just a browser. It would let me work with the information I’ve found: Manage my photos (Picasa), manage my desktop files, translate documents (Google Languages), shop…

What effect will this have on other browsers? Will smaller browsers be able to compete with the vast resources Google has? Or will they fall by the way side just as Netscape did? This brings up some interesting questions about the new browser war that is starting to brew again.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 28, 2004 at 6:39 pm

    This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. Anonymous
    October 28, 2004 at 8:19 pm

    Gbrowser is at the vapourware stage right now, so speculating about its world conquest is premature. I’d be unlikely to switch away from Opera.

    As for Picasa, it sucks when applied to an existing hierarchical organization of photos. The flat paradigm is incompatible with contemporary filesystems.

  3. Anonymous
    November 3, 2004 at 9:18 am

    I’m actually hoping Google never release a browser. I’m worried they will turn into a second microsoft and then begin creating 2nd rate programs and services. I think google should stick with what they’re best at (Internet Services) and leave alternative browsers alone.

    After all…we don’t Google to become as unpopular as microsoft, or to have a complete market monopoly.

  4. November 9, 2004 at 8:10 pm
  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
